Patreon Pricing 2026
Plans, hidden costs, and alternatives compared
Cite this data: Toolradar, Patreon pricing verified Sep 2026, toolradar.com/tools/patreon/pricing
Patreon pricing: 10% of Patreon income.
Verified Sep 2026 from the official pricing page.
Is Patreon worth the price?
Patreon charges a flat 10% platform fee (as of August 2025) plus payment processing fees that bring the real cost to 12-15% of gross revenue.
Free to start, but the fee stack adds up. The iOS in-app purchase surcharge (~30% Apple tax passed to patrons) is a significant hidden cost that reduces conversions on mobile.
Pricing Plans
Creator
10%
of Patreon income
Free to start
- Pay only when earning
- + payment processing fees
- Memberships & products
Hidden Costs & Gotchas
Payment processing
2.9% + $0.30 per transaction (5% + $0.10 for pledges ≤$3)
Currency conversion
2.5% fee when patron currency differs from payout currency
Payout fees
$0.25 per bank transfer or 1% for PayPal (capped at $20)
iOS in-app purchases
Apple takes ~30%, passed as ~43% price increase to patrons
Legacy creators grandfathered at 5%/8%/12%, but lose it permanently if they unpublish
Our Recommendation
creator
The 10% rate is competitive for the feature set (video hosting, podcasting, community). But push patrons to use web checkout, iOS purchases cost patrons 30-43% more.
startup
Patreon works for creator-led startups building community. But 12-15% total fees are steep, consider Gumroad (10% flat) for digital product sales instead.
freelancer
Good for recurring creative income. At $5,000/month revenue, expect $675-$815 in total fees. Compare Ko-fi (0% platform fee on donations) for lower-volume creators.
How Patreon compares
3 of 6 direct competitors offer a free plan.
Patreon Pricing FAQ
How much does Patreon cost?
Patreon has no subscription price: 10% of Patreon income.
Does Patreon have a free plan?
Patreon does not offer a permanent free plan. Paid plans are required from day one.
What are alternatives to Patreon?
Alternatives to Patreon include Ko-fi, Buy Me a Coffee, Substack, Gumroad. Ko-fi starts at $6/month, billing unit not specified; Buy Me a Coffee starts at $5/month, billing unit not specified; Memberful starts at $49/month, billing unit not specified.
Patreon alternatives
Direct competitors. Starting prices match the table above.
Sources
- Official Patreon pricing: www.patreon.com/pricing (verified Sep 2026)
- Cite this data: Toolradar, Patreon pricing verified Sep 2026, toolradar.com/tools/patreon/pricing

Review Patreon, get a free AI guide
Share your experience and we will send you Improve Your Thinking Patterns Using ChatGPT, free.