Skip to content

Best AI Tools for Data Engineers in 2026

TL;DR

Short answer: GitHub Copilot is the best AI tool for most data engineers in 2026. Its entry seat drops into the IDE, the CLI, and the pull request where pipeline code actually lives, while Free caps at 2,000 completions and 50 chat requests a month.

For dbt models, Starter is $100/seat/mo and the dbt Wizard agent is still in preview and beta. Pick Snowflake or Databricks when the AI has to sit inside the warehouse or lakehouse you already pay for, Airbyte or Fivetran when the job is moving data between systems, and Monte Carlo when pipelines fail silently at 3am.

10 tools compared on price, features and fit, with prices checked on vendor pages in September 2026.

As featured in
  • TechCrunch
  • Forbes
  • Bloomberg
  • Business Insider
  • The Verge
104 ETL & Data Pipelines tools tracked

A data engineer should buy the AI that touches the pipeline they already own: the DAG, the dbt model, the warehouse job, not a chat window bolted onto a dashboard. GitHub Copilot wins that test for most people in the seat, because Pro prints a flat monthly price on GitHub's own plans page and sits in the IDE, the CLI, and the pull request instead of a separate tab.

Buy the assistant that only writes SQL for a stakeholder who never opens a terminal and you have switched products. That buyer belongs on the AI tools for data analysts guide. A team ranking managed connectors and reverse ETL as a whole category belongs on the ETL tools guide, and this page stays with the engineer who owns the orchestration, the transformation layer, and the warehouse bill.

Toolradar data: 63% of the 104 ETL and data pipeline tools we track ship a free or freemium tier, 39 stay paid only (38%), and that split is worth checking before assuming a sandbox account exists on whatever a vendor just demoed.

How we ranked: these 10 had to touch code, a model, or a running pipeline a data engineer signs off on, set beside the 104 tools in the ETL and data pipelines category. Every price was read on the vendor's own pages in September 2026, with no paid placement, and the method is on how we rate.

dbt and Fivetran closed a merger on June 1, 2026 and now operate as one company, which quietly changes two rows on this list at once. Databricks made its notebook Assistant free for every customer, then priced its newer coding agent, Genie Code, on a separate meter starting July 8, 2026.

Top Picks

Picked by editorial review, informed by G2 and Capterra review volume and rating and by media mentions, the signals behind our category rankings. How we rate

Best AI Tools for Data Engineers compared: starting price, rating and best use, as of September 2026
ToolStarting priceRatingBest for
GitHub CopilotFrom $10/mon/aData engineers who write and review pipeline code daily.
dbtStarter $100/seat/mo4.7209 reviewsData engineers who own SQL models, tests, and documentation in dbt.
SnowflakeAI credits $2.00 each4.1865 reviewsData engineers whose pipelines already land in Snowflake.
DatabricksNo published DBU rate4.61,385 reviewsData engineers whose tables and jobs already run in Databricks.
AirbyteStandard from $20/mo4.478 reviewsData engineers who need connectors fast, on a printed entry price.
FivetranFree tier, then a quote4.3855 reviewsData engineers who want connectors fully managed and can live with usage pricing.
DagsterFrom $10/mon/aData engineers who want lineage-aware orchestration with a printed entry price.
Monte CarloCustom, credit-based4.4488 reviewsData engineering teams that need root-cause AI on pipeline failures, not just an alert.
Elementary DataNo published Cloud price4.518 reviewsTeams already on dbt who want observability without a separate platform to learn.
Apache AirflowFree, open source4.4129 reviewsData engineers who want to price a paid AI feature against a real free alternative.

Data engineers who write and review pipeline code daily.

+Free includes 2,000 completions and 50 chat requests a month, plus agent mode, CLI, and editor support, though the tier cannot buy additional AI credits once that cap is hit.
+Pro is the printed entry seat and includes unlimited inline suggestions plus code review and pull request review inside GitHub, which is where a data engineer's DAG and dbt changes actually get merged.
+Business is $19 per user per month and Enterprise is $39 per user per month, each pooling AI credits at the organization level for chat, agent mode, and cloud agent use beyond unlimited code completions.
−Pro+ and Max step up mainly to raise the AI credit pool for agent-heavy work, both well above Pro's entry rate, so a team that leans on agent mode can outgrow Pro fast.
−None of Copilot's tiers understand a dbt model's lineage or a warehouse schema the way a category-specific tool does, so it complements dbt Wizard or Databricks Assistant rather than replacing either.
Great value

GitHub Copilot is the most widely adopted AI coding assistant, and the 2026 pricing restructure makes it more competitive than ever.

Watch out

Premium request limits: Free gets 50/mo, Pro gets 300, Pro+ gets 1,500. Heavy users on Pro burn through 300 requests in 2 weeks, especially when using agent mode which can consume 5-10 requests per task

2
dbt logo

dbt

  • 4.7 on G2 (209 reviews)

Data engineers who own SQL models, tests, and documentation in dbt.

+Developer is free for 1 seat and 3,000 models a month, enough to prove out a project before a team seat is on the table. Starter adds 5 seats and 15,000 models a month for the printed rate.
+Wizard, dbt's AI agent, is grounded in the project's lineage, tests, compiled state, and metric definitions, and is built for refactors and migrations rather than open-ended questions about data it cannot see.
+Enterprise and Enterprise+ move to custom pricing with 100,000 models a month, column-level lineage, governed metrics, and SSO, which is the tier most regulated data platforms actually land on.
−Wizard ships as three separate previews and betas (in-platform, desktop, CLI) with no plan named on the product page, so a buyer cannot yet confirm which seat includes it at general availability.
−Starter's 5 included seats and 15,000 monthly models are a floor, not a ceiling most teams stay under, and the next step up is a custom Enterprise quote rather than a printed middle tier.
Fair value

dbt Cloud pricing shifted to a consumption-based model in 2024, adding per-model-run charges on top of per-seat fees.

Watch out

Queried metrics (Semantic Layer) are separately metered: Starter includes 5,000 queries/month. Dashboards hitting the Semantic Layer can burn through this in days if not monitored

3
Snowflake logo

Snowflake

  • 4.6 on G2 (764 reviews)
  • 4.7 on Capterra (97 reviews)
  • 0.6 on Trustpilot (4 reviews)

Data engineers whose pipelines already land in Snowflake.

+AI Credits price flat at $2.00 each on global routing and $2.20 on regional routing, independent of edition, so the AI line does not move just because the account sits on Enterprise instead of Standard.
+Cortex Analyst bills 67 platform credits per 1,000 messages through its standalone API, while Cortex Agents and AI Functions bill by AI Credits per million tokens processed, a different unit for a different entry point.
+Document AI (AI Parse Doc) bills in AI Credits per 1,000 pages, and Cortex Search splits serving compute (credits per GB indexed) from embedding compute (per token), so ingestion and search do not share one rate.
−Platform credit price is not one number: Snowflake's own documentation illustrates it at $3.00 for Enterprise edition only as an example, and the real rate depends on edition, cloud, and region.
−A pipeline that calls Cortex Agents still runs the warehouse compute underneath the AI Credit charge, so a cheap-looking AI answer can hide an expensive query on the platform-credit line.
Good value

The model rewards disciplined warehouse management and punishes always-on clusters.

Watch out

Serverless features (Snowpipe, tasks, materialized views) consume credits automatically in the background. Cloud services usage is free up to 10% of your daily compute spend, but exceeding that threshold triggers additional charges that are hard to predict.

4
Databricks logo

Databricks

  • 4.6 on G2 (1,362 reviews)
  • 4.5 on Capterra (23 reviews)

Data engineers whose tables and jobs already run in Databricks.

+Databricks Assistant, the in-notebook, SQL editor, and dashboard AI, is available at no additional cost for every customer on every cloud, confirmed at its general availability announcement, so it is not a separate line item to budget.
+Genie One and Genie Agents usage by users stays free through January 31, 2027, and the 150-DBU free allowance under that promotion is worth $10.50 in US East, a dollar equivalent that changes by region.
+Genie Code, the newer coding agent, moves to pay-as-you-go pricing with a per-user free monthly allowance starting July 8, 2026, so it is billed separately from Genie One rather than folded into the same free window.
−Compute itself has no printed per-DBU rate on Databricks' own pricing pages: every page routes to an interactive calculator instead of a table you can read and copy into a budget.
−An analyst or engineer who asks Genie or Genie Code still pays for the SQL warehouse or job cluster underneath the answer, so the AI allowance is never the whole bill.
Fair value

It's best for enterprises with significant data processing needs and budgets to match.

Watch out

Separate cloud infrastructure bill on top of DBUs, varying with instance types and usage

5
Airbyte logo

Airbyte

  • 4.4 on G2 (78 reviews)

Data engineers who need connectors fast, on a printed entry price.

+Standard starts at $20 a month with 5 credits included and extra credits at $5 each, and a 30-day free trial adds 400 credits, a $2,000 value, so a real pipeline can run before a card is charged.
+Plus runs from $189 a month for 40 credits up to $4,999 a month for 2,000 credits, and adds SSO, field renaming, and 15-minute sync frequency over Standard, with overage priced at $5.00 a credit.
+The AI Assistant in Connector Builder takes a public API documentation URL or an OpenAPI spec and drafts a stream configuration, available across Cloud, Flex, and self-managed deployments, not gated to one paid tier.
−Pro and Enterprise Flex both move to capacity-based, custom pricing once RBAC, multiple workspaces, and 5-minute syncs are the requirement, so the printed Plus ceiling is not where most growing teams stop.
−The AI-drafted stream configuration is a starting point, not a finished connector: a data engineer still has to verify field mappings against the real API response before trusting it in production.
Great value

Airbyte's pricing is quite generous, especially with the robust free 'Core' open-source tier offering full control and 600+ connectors.

Watch out

Pro and Enterprise tiers require custom quotes, lacking transparency.

6
Fivetran logo

Fivetran

  • 4.3 on G2 (830 reviews)
  • 4.4 on Capterra (25 reviews)

Data engineers who want connectors fully managed and can live with usage pricing.

+Free includes 500,000 monthly active rows (MAR) for connections, 3,500 MAR for activations, and 5,000 model runs a month for transformations, plus a 14-day trial on every new connection regardless of plan.
+Fivetran completed an all-stock merger with dbt Labs on June 1, 2026, operating initially as Fivetran + dbt Labs, pairing managed pipelines with dbt's transformation layer under one roadmap.
+Fivetran Context Layer, in private beta, unifies structured dbt context with unstructured sources like docs and Slack threads into a format AI agents can read through MCP, built on an open standard called Agents Schema.
−Standard, Enterprise, and Business Critical all price on MAR volume through an online estimator rather than a printed table, so a data engineer cannot compare Fivetran to a flat seat price without running the tool.
−Context Layer is private beta, not a feature a team can put on this quarter's roadmap yet, and the pricing page gives no signal on how it will eventually be billed.
Fair value

This pricing is best suited for established businesses with high data integration needs and budgets.

Watch out

Usage-based pricing on MAR can lead to overages

7
Dagster logo

Dagster

  • 4.5 on G2 (2 reviews)

Data engineers who want lineage-aware orchestration with a printed entry price.

+Solo is the printed entry seat for a single user, with pay-as-you-go compute at $0.040 a credit and serverless compute at $0.010 a minute, and a 30-day trial needs no upgrade to start testing real pipelines.
+Starter raises the ceiling to 3 users, drops the credit rate to $0.035, and adds catalog search across 5 code locations, which is where a small team's asset graph first becomes searchable.
+Dagster+ AI chat and AI proactive monitoring exist as named features on the pricing page, so a buyer knows to ask for them by name rather than assuming a demo's AI feature ships on Starter.
−The AI chat and proactive monitoring features are Pro and Enterprise only, both contact sales, so neither printed Dagster+ seat includes them despite covering the core orchestration.
−Unlimited code locations and deployments, the two limits a growing team hits first, also sit behind that same custom Pro and Enterprise quote rather than a printed middle tier.
Good value

Dagster's pricing model is fair and generous, especially with its robust Open Source offering and significant free credits in the Solo and Starter tiers.

8
Monte Carlo logo

Monte Carlo

  • 4.3 on G2 (487 reviews)
  • 5.0 on SourceForge (1 reviews)

Data engineering teams that need root-cause AI on pipeline failures, not just an alert.

+Every tier, Start, Scale, Enterprise, and Business Critical, includes incident triaging, root cause analysis, and lineage, plus what Monte Carlo calls Agent Observability, rather than gating those features to the top plan.
+API call allowances scale from 10,000 to 100,000 calls a day by tier, which is the ceiling to check before assuming a heavy pipeline fits the plan a sales call proposed.
+A published customer account describes Monte Carlo's Troubleshooting Agent completing an analysis in minutes, the kind of before-and-after a data engineer can ask a sales rep to reproduce on a real incident.
−Monte Carlo publishes no dollar figure anywhere on its pricing page: cost is credits consumed against per-monitor pricing, so a buyer cannot line it up against a printed seat without a call.
−No free trial is listed on the pricing page itself, unlike several other picks on this list that let a data engineer test the AI before a contract exists.
Good value

Monte Carlo's pricing, while not publicly disclosed, appears to target larger enterprises given the 'Request pricing' model across all tiers and the extensive feature sets.

9
Elementary Data logo

Elementary Data

  • 4.5 on G2 (18 reviews)

Teams already on dbt who want observability without a separate platform to learn.

Elementary Data screenshot
+The open-source version installs directly in your own environment, so a team that cannot start a cloud trial yet still gets automated monitors, anomaly detection, and data tests without a contract.
+Cloud tiers scale from Scale (up to 10 editor seats, up to 1,000 tables) to Enterprise (up to 20 editor and 40 viewer seats, up to 3,000 tables) to Unlimited seats, all still on the same table ceiling.
+A 30-day free trial includes every Essentials-plan feature with no seat or table limit during the trial window, which is more room to test than most quote-only competitors give upfront.
−None of the three Cloud tiers publish a dollar figure, so a data engineer cannot compare Elementary against dbt's own printed Starter seat without a sales conversation first.
−The AI agents, test coverage automation, incident triage, cost optimization, are sold as a separate credit-based add-on on top of the seat price, not included the way core monitoring is.
Fair value

Elementary Data's pricing is opaque, as all tiers require contacting sales.

10
Apache Airflow logo

Apache Airflow

  • 4.4 on G2 (129 reviews)

Data engineers who want to price a paid AI feature against a real free alternative.

+Airflow is maintained by the Apache Software Foundation under an open-source license with no seat cost at any scale, which is the honest floor before paying for Dagster+ or a managed orchestrator.
+The current stable release, 3.3.0, shipped July 6, 2026 and adds asset partitioning plus stateful, multi-language tasks, so the open-source project keeps shipping features some paid competitors still charge for.
+Community support runs through Slack and public channels, and every DAG a team writes stays fully inspectable, which matters when an AI-drafted pipeline from another tool needs a human to debug it.
−There is no built-in AI layer at all: no assistant, no chat, no anomaly detection, so a team that wants any of this page's other features has to pair Airflow with a separate paid tool.
−Running Airflow well still costs infrastructure and engineering time even though the license is free, and that operational cost does not show up anywhere on a pricing page to budget against.
Great value

The pricing for Apache Airflow is incredibly fair and generous, especially considering the robust open-source option.

Watch out

AWS MWAA data transfer and storage fees

What an AI tool for a data engineer actually is

An AI tool for a data engineer writes, reviews, or explains code that a person still runs against production: a DAG, a dbt model, a warehouse query, a Terraform file for the infrastructure underneath it. If the output cannot be diffed, tested, and merged, it is a demo, not a tool for this job.

GitHub Copilot sits inside the editor and the pull request, so a suggested change is reviewed the way any other commit would be. dbt's Wizard agent is grounded in the project's lineage, tests, and compiled state, which is why dbt frames it as a refactoring and migration tool rather than a chatbot. Airbyte's AI Connector Builder reads a pasted API documentation URL and drafts a stream configuration a human still reviews before it syncs anything.

Snowflake and Databricks bill the AI as a meter on top of the platform you already pay for: Cortex Analyst and Cortex Agents run on Snowflake's own AI credits, and Databricks' Genie Code runs on a separate usage allowance from the underlying DBU compute. Monte Carlo and Elementary Data point the AI at the pipeline's failures instead of its code, triaging incidents and suggesting root cause before a person opens five dashboards. Apache Airflow and Dagster are the orchestration layer underneath most of the above, and only one of them prices an AI chat feature at all.

Why the assistant is free on one platform and a second invoice on the next

The same job title buys three different pricing shapes in September 2026: a flat coding-assistant seat, a feature bundled free into a platform you already pay for, or an AI meter that runs beside the compute meter. Mixing them up is how a team budgets for a free feature and gets billed for a metered one, or the reverse.

Databricks announced its notebook and SQL Assistant "available at no additional cost for all customers" when the feature went to general availability, across every cloud. Its newer coding agent, Genie Code, is a different product: it moves to pay-as-you-go pricing with a per-user free monthly allowance starting July 8, 2026, while Genie One and Genie Agents stay free for users through January 31, 2027. Read Snowflake vs Databricks before a single demo makes both platforms sound like the same bill.

Snowflake's AI credits price flat regardless of edition, a rate documented separately from the platform credit that runs the warehouse underneath a Cortex Analyst query. Snowflake's own documentation uses $3.00 as an Enterprise-edition platform credit example only, not a number every account pays.

Dagster gates its AI chat and proactive monitoring behind Pro and Enterprise, so neither of its two printed seats, the ones that cover orchestration, catalog search, and RBAC, include it. Dagster vs Prefect and Apache Airflow vs Dagster are the orchestration fights underneath this page, where none of the open-source defaults ship an AI layer on their own.

Key Features to Look For

  • Whether the assistant is a new SKU or an existing one (Essential)

    Databricks Assistant shipped free for every customer at general availability. Dagster's AI chat sits behind Pro and Enterprise. GitHub Copilot's org tiers add AI credits on top of a seat price that already existed. Check which shape you are buying before a demo makes all three sound the same.

  • Code the pipeline can review, not a paragraph (Essential)

    Copilot proposes a diff inside the pull request. dbt Wizard is grounded in the project's lineage, tests, and compiled state, and its own description leans on refactoring and migration rather than open-ended chat. A tool that cannot show the statement or the diff is not one a data engineer can sign off on.

  • The cap that ends before the sprint does (Essential)

    Copilot Free stops at 2,000 completions and 50 chat requests a month, with no way to buy more on that tier. Monte Carlo's API call allowance runs from 10,000 to 100,000 calls a day depending on plan. Airbyte's Standard plan ships 5 credits and prices extra credits at $5 each.

  • Managed connectors versus a DAG you own (Essential)

    Fivetran and Airbyte manage the connector and the schema drift for you, in exchange for a usage-based meter neither publishes as a flat list price. Apache Airflow and Dagster orchestrate whatever you write yourself, free on Airflow and from a printed entry seat on Dagster+.

  • What the AI meter adds on top of compute (Important)

    Snowflake's AI credits are billed separately from the platform credit that runs the warehouse query underneath the answer. Databricks splits Assistant (free) from Genie Code (metered from July 2026) from the DBU compute under both. A cheap-looking AI answer can still be an expensive query.

  • Observability that explains why, not only that (Important)

    Monte Carlo's plans include incident triaging, root cause analysis, and lineage across every tier, with a Troubleshooting Agent referenced in its own customer materials. Elementary Data sells a similar set of AI agents, test coverage automation, triage, cost optimization, as a metered add-on on top of its seat-based Cloud plans.

  • The open-source line with no vendor AI attached (Important)

    Apache Airflow, Airbyte Core, and Elementary's self-hosted install all run free with no AI layer included, community support only. That is the honest baseline to compare a paid AI feature against before assuming the assistant is worth the seat.

  • A merger that just moved two rows on the roadmap (Nice to have)

    Fivetran and dbt Labs completed an all-stock merger on June 1, 2026 and now operate as one company, pairing Fivetran's managed pipelines with dbt's transformation layer under one Context Layer product for AI agents, still in private beta.

What a data engineer should decide first

  1. If the daily work is writing and reviewing pipeline code (Python, SQL, Airflow DAGs, Terraform), start with GitHub Copilot Pro before adding a category-specific assistant on top of it.

  2. If the gap is dbt models, price Starter on its own merits and treat Wizard as a preview and beta feature, not a line item the pricing page confirms for any plan.

  3. If the warehouse is Snowflake, separate the AI credit meter from the platform credit meter on one real query before calling an agent cheap or expensive.

  4. If the lakehouse is Databricks, budget Assistant as free and Genie Code as a new usage-based line once its pricing starts on July 8, 2026.

  5. If pipelines break without warning, price Monte Carlo or Elementary before adding a general-purpose chatbot to explain an incident neither was trained on.

Evaluation Checklist

  • Hit GitHub Copilot Free's cap on purpose, 2,000 completions and 50 chat requests a month, before assuming Pro's credit pool will feel unlimited for agent-heavy work.

  • Run dbt Wizard on your own project during its preview or beta window and note what it gets wrong before planning a workflow around it.

  • Split Snowflake's AI credit charge from the platform credit charge on one real Cortex Analyst call you already understand.

  • Confirm which Databricks feature is actually in the quote: Assistant free at general availability, Genie Code metered from July 8, 2026.

  • Test Airbyte's AI Connector Builder against one internal API and check the drafted stream configuration against the real response before trusting it.

  • Ask whether an observability vendor's AI agent (Monte Carlo's Troubleshooting Agent, Elementary's AI agents) is inside the base plan or a metered add-on.

Pricing Overview

Coding assistant seat

GitHub Copilot Free through Max, plus Business and Enterprise org seats.

Free through a per-user monthly seat

Transformation or orchestration seat

dbt Cloud Starter, Dagster+ Solo and Starter.

A printed monthly seat

Warehouse or lakehouse meter

Snowflake AI and platform credits, Databricks DBUs and Genie Code.

Credits, not a seat

Pipeline and observability quote

Airbyte Plus and Pro, Fivetran's paid tiers, Monte Carlo, Elementary Cloud.

Custom or credit packs

Pricing Comparison

Best AI Tools for Data Engineers pricing comparison, as of September 2026
ToolBest for a data engineerEntry priceAI catchFree plan

Code in the IDE, the CLI, and the pull request

$10/mo (Pro)

Org seats add AI credits at $19 to $39/user/mo

Yes, capped completions

Tested, documented transformation models

$100/seat/mo (Starter)

Wizard is preview and beta, not a checkout line

Yes, Developer plan

Snowflake

AI inside the warehouse you already run

AI credits $2.00 each

Platform credit price depends on edition and region

No published free seat

Databricks

AI inside the lakehouse notebook

No published DBU rate

Assistant is free, Genie Code meters from Jul 2026

Trial only

Airbyte

Managed connectors with an AI builder

Standard from $20/mo

Plus credit packs run $189 to $4,999/mo

Yes, open-source Core

Fivetran

Managed EL, now merged with dbt Labs

Free tier, then no list price

Context Layer AI is private beta

Yes, capped MAR

Dagster

Orchestration with AI chat on Pro and up

$10/mo (Solo)

AI chat and monitoring need Pro or Enterprise

No, 30-day trial

Root cause AI on pipeline incidents

No published price

Consumption credits, not a seat

No

dbt-native data observability

No published Cloud price

AI agents are a metered add-on

Yes, open source

Free orchestration, no vendor AI

Free, open source

No built-in AI layer

Yes, unlimited

Verified September 2026 on GitHub, dbt Labs, Snowflake, Databricks, Airbyte, Fivetran, Dagster, Monte Carlo, Elementary Data, and Apache Airflow pages. Fivetran and dbt Labs completed their merger June 1, 2026 and are shown as separate rows because they are still sold and priced separately.

Mistakes to Avoid

  • ×

    Staying on Copilot Free past the real test period and hitting the 2,000-completion cap mid-sprint, when the tier explicitly cannot purchase additional AI credits.

  • ×

    Budgeting for dbt Wizard as if it were generally available, when the product page lists it as in-platform preview, desktop private beta, and CLI public beta with no plan named.

  • ×

    Multiplying Snowflake's per-message Cortex Analyst rate by the AI credit price directly, when platform credits and AI credits are two different meters priced differently.

  • ×

    Assuming Databricks Assistant costs extra because Genie Code does, when Databricks' own general availability announcement makes Assistant free for every customer.

  • ×

    Signing a Fivetran or dbt contract without checking the post-merger roadmap, Context Layer, dbt Wizard, and dbt Charts now ship as one company's joint plan rather than two separate ones.

  • ×

    Pricing Dagster's Solo or Starter seat as if AI chat were included, when the pricing page places both AI chat and proactive monitoring on Pro and Enterprise only.

Expert Tips

  • →

    Run GitHub Copilot Free against real pipeline code before paying for anything, then watch the 2,000-completion cap to decide if Pro's entry rate is worth it for your workflow.

  • →

    Try dbt Wizard CLI, the public beta, from your terminal first if you want it in the same place you already run dbt, rather than waiting on the in-platform preview.

  • →

    Ask your Snowflake account team whether cross-region inference is pinned to one geography before assuming every AI Credit bills at the cheaper global rate instead of the regional one.

  • →

    Use Databricks Assistant for free notebook fixes today, and set a Genie Code budget line before its usage-based pricing starts on July 8, 2026 changes the free assumption.

  • →

    Point Airbyte's AI Connector Builder at a real, documented API first, a pasted OpenAPI spec drafts a cleaner stream configuration than a vague product description.

  • →

    Skip Dagster's Pro tier if catalog search and RBAC on Starter already solve today's problem, and revisit AI chat once proactive monitoring is the actual blocker.

Red Flags to Watch For

  • !

    A demo shows an AI feature with no confirmation it ships on the tier you are actually pricing, dbt Wizard's plan gating is not published anywhere.

  • !

    Databricks compute gets quoted as one flat number, when every official pricing page routes to a calculator with no printed per-DBU rate.

  • !

    Snowflake's AI credit charge and platform credit charge get treated as the same rate, when the documentation prices them separately and the platform rate depends on edition and region.

  • !

    A pipeline tool's 'AI' turns out to be a generic chat window with no lineage, test, or schema awareness, the opposite of what dbt Wizard and Copilot's PR review both ground themselves in.

  • !

    An observability vendor's root-cause AI is gated behind a credit-based add-on that never came up until the invoice, the way Elementary prices its AI agents apart from its seat.

The Bottom Line

Buy GitHub Copilot Pro, its printed entry seat, when the daily work is pipeline code across languages and tools, and move to Business or Enterprise once AI credits, not seats, are the constraint. Buy dbt Starter for tested, documented models, and treat Wizard as a preview to test, not a feature to budget around yet.

Buy Snowflake when the AI has to run against a warehouse you already operate, and separate its AI credits from its platform credits on the invoice. Buy Databricks the same way: Assistant is free, Genie Code is not, and compute has no printed rate either way. Airbyte and Fivetran fit the team that wants connectors managed, one with a printed entry price, one that just merged with dbt Labs.

Dagster and Apache Airflow are the orchestration choice underneath most of the above, one with a cheap seat and AI gated to Pro, one free with no AI at all. Monte Carlo and Elementary Data are the pick when pipelines fail silently and a root cause matters more than another dashboard.

Cite this: Toolradar, "Best AI Tools for Data Engineers 2026", September 2026. Prices read on vendor sites in September 2026. No sponsored row. Set beside the 104 ETL and data pipeline tools we track.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the best AI tool for data engineers in 2026?

GitHub Copilot is the best AI tool for most data engineers in 2026, because its Pro seat sits in the IDE, CLI, and pull request, and its pricing table is the clearest of any pick on this list. dbt fits the team whose daily work is transformation models, though its Wizard agent is still in preview and beta. Snowflake and Databricks fit teams that want the AI running inside the warehouse or lakehouse they already pay for, and Monte Carlo fits a team whose main problem is pipelines failing without warning.

How much do AI tools for data engineers cost?

GitHub Copilot's individual tiers climb from a Pro seat to a Max seat, with Business at $19 per user per month and Enterprise at $39 per user per month for organizations. dbt Cloud's Starter and Dagster+'s Solo seat are both printed rates on their pricing pages. Airbyte's Standard plan starts at $20/mo, with Plus running $189 to $4,999/mo in credit packs. Snowflake bills AI Credits at $2.00 or $2.20 each, separate from platform credit charges. Databricks, Fivetran, Monte Carlo, and Elementary Data's paid Cloud tiers all publish no flat dollar figure.

Is there a free AI tool for data engineers?

Yes, with real caps. GitHub Copilot Free allows 2,000 completions and 50 chat requests a month with no way to buy more on that tier. dbt's Developer plan is free for 1 seat and 3,000 models a month. Apache Airflow is fully free and open source with no AI layer at all. Airbyte Core and Elementary Data's core product are also free to self-host. Databricks Assistant itself is free for every customer at general availability, though the compute underneath it is not.

Does Databricks Assistant cost extra?

No. Databricks made Assistant, the in-notebook, SQL editor, and dashboard AI, available at no additional cost for every customer on every cloud at general availability. Genie Code, a separate and newer coding agent, is different: it moves to pay-as-you-go pricing with a per-user free monthly allowance starting July 8, 2026, while Genie One and Genie Agents usage stays free for users through January 31, 2027. The DBU compute underneath any of these still bills at whatever rate the workspace pays, and Databricks does not publish a flat per-DBU number.

Is dbt Wizard available yet?

Partially. dbt Wizard exists in three forms: in-platform (preview), desktop (private beta), and CLI (public beta). dbt's own product page describes what it does, refactoring, migrations, grounded answers from lineage and tests, but does not state which dbt Cloud plan includes it once it reaches general availability. A team evaluating dbt today should test Wizard through the CLI beta rather than budgeting a seat around a feature the pricing page has not gated yet.

Should a data engineering team buy Fivetran or dbt now that they have merged?

Both, if the workflow already needs a managed loader and a transformation layer, they are separately priced and still sold as separate products after the June 1, 2026 merger. Fivetran's free tier covers 500,000 MAR for connections and 5,000 model runs a month, with paid tiers priced by usage rather than a flat seat. dbt's Starter seat is $100/seat/mo. The shared roadmap item to watch is Fivetran Context Layer, in private beta, which is meant to give AI agents unified access to both companies' data and metadata.

How does GitHub Copilot compare with a data-specific AI assistant like dbt Wizard?

Copilot is a general coding assistant: it suggests code and reviews pull requests across whatever language a data engineer writes, Python, SQL, Terraform, Airflow DAGs, at its printed Pro rate. dbt Wizard is scoped to one project's dbt models, grounded in that project's own lineage, tests, and compiled state, which lets it refactor and migrate models with more context than a general tool has. Most data engineering teams end up running both: Copilot for the codebase broadly, Wizard for the transformation layer specifically, once Wizard leaves beta.

Cite this page: Toolradar, "Best AI Tools for Data Engineers in 2026", updated September 2026, https://toolradar.com/guides/best-ai-tools-for-data-engineers

Sources

Prices and plan details on this page come from each vendor's own pricing page, re-checked by the Toolradar pricing tracker:

Related Guides