Cheapest AI Video Generators in 2026
Short answer: for four finished one-minute videos a month at 1080p with no watermark, Synthesia's Starter plan is the cheapest generator priced for this scenario, at $18 a month billed yearly, or about $4.50 per finished minute. Pictory Starter comes to about $6.25 a minute, and Pika's Creator plan to about $7, with its credit rate published only at 720p. Luma Pro and Runway Max cost about $19 a minute at their published credit rates. Kapwing and Descript come in lower, but they edit footage you already shot rather than generating it.
Nine AI video tools priced per finished minute for one monthly scenario, with plan prices checked on vendor pages in October 2026.
For a buyer with a fixed number of videos to ship each month, the sticker price on a pricing page answers the wrong question. A cheap plan can add a watermark to every export, exclude commercial use or hold a credit pool too small for the job, and a credit tool can look generous until its per-second rate is applied.
This guide prices that job in one unit: the cost of one finished minute. The scenario is one marketing lead who publishes four one-minute videos a month, exported at 1080p with no watermark and licensed for commercial use. Every figure below comes from the vendor's own pricing page, checked in October 2026 and quoted in US dollars. The quality ranking of these tools lives in best AI video generators and in best free AI video generators; this page answers the price question alone.
Toolradar data: of the 141 AI video tools we track, 28% publish no free tier (40 paid only), and 71% offer a free or freemium plan. In the plans checked for this page, the free tiers mostly add a watermark, cap exports at 720p or limit video length, so a finished minute almost always means paying.
Methodology: nine tools, each priced from its own pricing page, checked in October 2026. A plan's cost per finished minute is its monthly price divided by four. Credit-based generators are costed at the vendor's published credit rate per second, multiplied by the 240 seconds in four minutes, and the plan with enough credits is the one priced. Prices shown as "billed yearly" are the per-month figure on annual billing. Our general scoring rules are on how we rate.
Top Picks
Picked by editorial review, informed by G2 and Capterra review volume and rating and by media mentions, the signals behind our category rankings. How we rate
| Tool | Starting price | Rating | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Synthesia | $18/mo billed yearly, $29 monthly | 4.6 3,120 reviews | Training, onboarding and explainer videos built around a presenter avatar. |
| Pictory | $25/mo billed yearly, $29 monthly | 4.6 81 reviews | Marketers turning articles and scripts into short branded videos. |
| Pika | $28/mo billed yearly, $35 monthly | 1.8 70 reviews | Creators generating short clips from text or images who need commercial rights. |
| Luma AI | $75/mo billed yearly, $90 monthly | n/a | Creators making high-motion clips who can budget credits per second. |
| Runway | $76/mo billed yearly, $95 monthly | 4.0 135 reviews | Filmmakers and ad teams testing shots at a metered credit cost per second. |
| HeyGen | $24/mo billed yearly, $29 monthly | 4.8 2,287 reviews | Sales and training teams making talking-head videos with a presenter avatar. |
| InVideo AI | $10/seat/mo billed yearly | 4.5 182 reviews | Solo marketers assembling stock-led videos from a prompt and a script. |
| Kapwing | $16/mo billed yearly, $24 monthly | 3.9 40 reviews | Teams cutting and captioning footage they already shot, not generating new scenes. |
| Descript | $16 or $24/mo per person | 4.6 1,106 reviews | Podcasters and marketers editing talking-head footage and screen recordings. |
Training, onboarding and explainer videos built around a presenter avatar.
- Pro: Starter gives 1,250 credits a month, which the page equates to about 12 minutes of video: enough for four finished minutes, with roughly eight spare for re-renders.
- Pro: Starter lists logo removal, and the page says downloads are Full HD at 1920 x 1080.
- Pro: Basic is free with 10 minutes of video a month, but its exports carry a Synthesia watermark.
- Con: Monthly billing is $29, which is 61 percent more than the annual rate.
- Con: The page quotes Starter's yearly allowance in conflicting ways, so confirm the credit count at checkout.
Synthesia's pricing is on the higher side, particularly for individual creators.
Watch out
Overage fees not explicitly stated
Marketers turning articles and scripts into short branded videos.
- Pro: Starter lists 200 video minutes a month and no watermark, far more than the four minutes this scenario needs.
- Pro: Starter covers the whole scenario, so a higher Pictory plan is not needed for four minutes.
- Pro: A free trial includes 15 video minutes, so the output can be tested before any paid plan.
- Con: Monthly billing is 16 percent more than the annual Starter rate.
- Con: The pricing page does not state commercial-use rights for any plan.
The Starter tier at $19/month is a reasonable entry point but limits video length.
Watch out
Overage fees if exceeding video limits
Creators generating short clips from text or images who need commercial rights.
- Pro: Creator carries 3,150 credits, with commercial use and no watermark listed.
- Pro: At the 720p rate on the page, four finished minutes use 1,584 credits, well inside Creator's allowance.
- Pro: Starter is $8 a month billed yearly with 900 credits, but it excludes commercial use, so it cannot serve a paid client project.
- Con: Credit rates appear only at 720p, so the $7 figure cannot be checked against a 1080p job, and the page does not price 1080p at all.
- Con: Monthly billing is $35, which is 25 percent above the annual Creator rate.
Pika Labs offers a generous free tier, but its paid plans, especially the Pro tier at $28/month for 2000 credits, can become expensive quickly for heavy users.
Creators making high-motion clips who can budget credits per second.
- Pro: Pro's 40,000 monthly credits cover 240 seconds at Ray3.14's 1080p rate of 80 credits a second, leaving about 20,800 spare.
- Pro: Plus, at $25 a month billed yearly with 10,000 credits, falls 9,200 credits short of the scenario.
- Pro: Commercial use is listed on Plus, and Pro includes everything in Plus.
- Con: One finished minute uses 4,800 credits at 80 a second, before any retry.
- Con: The pricing page does not state watermark status for any plan.
Luma AI's pricing is fair, offering a generous free tier for casual users.
Filmmakers and ad teams testing shots at a metered credit cost per second.
- Pro: Gen-4.5 is listed at 12 credits a second, so four finished minutes need 2,880 credits.
- Pro: Max's 9,500 credits leave about 6,600 after the base, roughly 550 seconds of retries at the same rate.
- Pro: The pricing page lists per-second credit costs for several models, including Aleph 2.0 at 28 credits a second.
- Con: Gen-4.5's 12 credits a second is stated without a resolution, so the 1080p assumption is the buyer's to verify.
- Con: Pro, with 2,250 credits, is not enough, since this scenario needs 2,880.
Runway's pricing is fair for individual creators, with a generous Free tier offering a good starting point.
Sales and training teams making talking-head videos with a presenter avatar.
- Pro: Creator includes 600 credits a month, watermark removal, 1080p export and videos up to 30 minutes each.
- Pro: Pro at $49 a month adds 1,000 credits and 4K export for larger deliveries.
- Pro: The free plan allows three videos a month, each up to one minute, for a test at no cost.
- Con: The page does not say how many credits one video minute uses, so this scenario cannot be priced per finished minute.
- Con: Commercial-use rights are not stated for any plan on the pricing page.
HeyGen's pricing is fair, offering a generous free tier for basic use.
Solo marketers assembling stock-led videos from a prompt and a script.
- Pro: Starter is $10 per seat a month billed yearly, with 400 credits a seat.
- Pro: Plus at $30 per seat billed yearly includes 2,000 credits a seat and 10 guest seats at no charge.
- Pro: Max at $75 per seat billed yearly adds 5,000 credits a seat for teams with more volume.
- Con: The page does not say how many credits one video minute uses, so the scenario cannot be priced per finished minute.
- Con: Export resolution, watermark status and commercial-use rights are not shown on the pricing page.
The Free tier is quite restrictive with a watermark and low resolution, pushing users towards paid plans.
Teams cutting and captioning footage they already shot, not generating new scenes.
- Pro: Pro costs $192 a year on annual billing, with 4K export, no watermark and unlimited monthly exports.
- Pro: Pro also includes 1,000 AI credits.
- Pro: The free plan exports at 720p with a watermark, which fails this scenario on both counts.
- Con: Kapwing does not publish how many credits one AI-generated video uses, so its generation cost cannot be priced per minute.
- Con: Commercial-use rights are not stated on the pricing page.
Kapwing's pricing is fair for its feature set, especially the Pro tier at $16/month annually, offering significant value compared to the Free tier's limitations.
Podcasters and marketers editing talking-head footage and screen recordings.
- Pro: Hobbyist exports up to 1080p with no watermark, and includes 10 media hours and 400 AI credits a month.
- Pro: Creator adds 4K export, 30 media hours and 800 AI credits per person.
- Pro: The free plan allows one media hour and 100 one-time AI credits, which makes it a trial rather than a monthly allowance.
- Con: The pricing page shows two prices per tier and does not label which one is annual, so the $4 and $6 figures carry that uncertainty.
- Con: It edits footage you supply and does not generate scenes from a prompt.
Descript's pricing is generally fair, offering a generous Free tier and a well-structured progression.
Watch out
Overage fees for exceeding media minutes
Other AI Video Generation tools worth considering
More published tools from our AI Video Generation category, ordered by our category ranking. They are not part of the editorial picks above.
What an AI video generator costs per finished minute
An AI video generator turns a script, a presenter avatar or a text prompt into footage you can publish. Pricing comes in three shapes, and the shapes do not compare directly. Script and avatar tools such as Synthesia, HeyGen and Pictory sell a monthly allowance of video minutes or credits, so the plan price is fixed whether you finish one minute or ten. Prompt-to-clip generators such as Pika, Luma AI and Runway meter credits by the second of output, and the rate changes with the model and the resolution. Editors such as Kapwing and Descript sell subscriptions and add AI features on top, which makes them cheap per minute, but they cut and caption footage you already shot.
Converting all three shapes into one figure is the point of this page. The unit is the price of one minute you can publish at the export settings the scenario requires. That is what a buyer with a monthly video quota actually pays for, and it is the number the sticker price hides.
Why the sticker price misleads
The cheapest plan on a pricing page often cannot do the job. Three traps show up repeatedly in the tools compared here. A plan can add a watermark to every export, which is the main reason the free tiers fail this scenario. A plan can exclude commercial use: Pika's Starter plan lists commercial use as not included, and Creator is the first Pika plan that covers paid client work. And a credit allowance can look large until the per-second rate is applied. Pika's Creator plan has 3,150 credits, enough for four minutes at its 720p rate. Runway's Pro plan has 2,250 credits, which is not enough: Gen-4.5 needs 2,880 for the same four minutes at 12 credits a second.
That last comparison is why this page reports the credit cost and the plan separately. A buyer who sees 2,250 credits and a monthly price should be able to check the arithmetic without trusting a summary, and the figures below make that check a single line of arithmetic.
Key Features to Look For
Credits per second (Essential)
Credit-metered generators bill each second of output, so the rate per second decides the cost more than the plan price does. Luma's Ray3.14 is listed at 80 credits a second at 1080p, more than six times Runway's 12 credits a second for Gen-4.5. The Runway page states no resolution for its rate, so compare the two as list rates, not as equal output.
Watermark on the plan you buy (Essential)
Watermark rules change by plan, not by tool. Synthesia's Basic plan carries its logo, while Starter lists logo removal. Pictory's Starter lists no watermark, and Kapwing's free exports carry one. Check the plan that matches your monthly minutes, because the free tier answers a different question.
Commercial-use rights (Essential)
A cheap plan can hide an excluded commercial licence. Pika's Starter excludes commercial use, and Creator includes it. Several pages here state no commercial-use rights at all, which is a question to put to the vendor before any client project is delivered.
Monthly allowance (Important)
Export resolution (Important)
Several pages state export resolution per plan. Kapwing Pro and Descript Creator list 4K, HeyGen Pro lists 4K, and Descript Hobbyist lists 1080p. Synthesia quotes Full HD downloads without a plan split, and Pictory lists 1080p only in its general feature list, so a 1080p need should be confirmed on the checkout page.
Billing term (Important)
Annual billing cuts the monthly price on every paid plan that lists both prices, by about 14 percent on Pictory Starter, 38 percent on Synthesia Starter and 50 percent on InVideo Starter per seat. Compare annual with annual, and treat the monthly price as the premium for flexibility.
Free plan limits (Nice to have)
Free plans work as a test, not a production plan. Kapwing's free exports carry a watermark and cap at 720p, Descript's free plan exports at 720p, and HeyGen's allows three videos a month of up to one minute each. Synthesia's Basic plan gives 10 minutes of video with its logo, enough to test a script and not enough to deliver one.
Before you pick the cheapest plan
Write the scenario first: finished minutes a month, export resolution, watermark tolerance and whether a client will receive the file. A cost per minute means nothing without those four inputs.
Divide the monthly price by finished minutes, then add retries. On Runway Max, the 2,880 credits for four minutes leave about 6,600 credits, roughly 550 seconds of retries at the same rate.
Check commercial use on the paid plan you would actually buy. Pika's Starter cannot serve a paid client project, so the cheapest plan is not the right one for client work.
Confirm annual versus monthly on the vendor's checkout page before comparing. Descript's pricing page shows two prices per tier without saying which is which.
Evaluation Checklist
Write down the finished minutes a month, the export resolution and whether a client will receive the file, then price only the plans that cover all three.
Divide each plan price by the finished minutes, then add a retry allowance by applying the vendor's credit rate to the extra seconds.
Confirm commercial-use rights on the checkout page of the plan you would buy, not on a free or lower tier.
Export a 30-second test at the scenario resolution on the cheapest qualifying plan, and check the watermark on the file itself.
Check whether each price is annual or monthly before comparing, because several pages here show two prices per tier.
Pricing Overview
Free plans
$0
Entry paid plans
Kapwing Pro, Descript Hobbyist and Pictory Starter, which each list watermark-free exports.
$16 to $25 a month
Generator plans
$18 to $76 a month, billed yearly
Team and enterprise
Enterprise plans on Synthesia, HeyGen, Kapwing and Runway have no USD price on the pricing page, so a team cost needs a sales conversation.
Contact sales
Pricing Comparison
| Tool | Plan used | Price per month | Cost per finished minute | Watermark and commercial use |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Kapwing | Pro | $16 billed yearly, 50 percent more monthly | $4.00 or $6.00 | No watermark; commercial use not stated |
Descript | Hobbyist | $16 or $24 per person, unlabeled | $4.00 or $6.00 | No watermark; commercial use not stated |
Synthesia | Starter | $18 billed yearly, $29 monthly | $4.50 or $7.25 | Logo removal listed; commercial use not shown |
Pictory | Starter | $25 billed yearly, 16 percent more monthly | $6.25 or $7.25 | No watermark listed; commercial use not stated |
Pika | Creator | $28 billed yearly, $35 monthly | $7.00 or $8.75 (720p rate only) | No watermark; commercial use included |
Luma | Pro | $75 billed yearly, $90 monthly | $18.75 or $22.50 | Watermark not stated; commercial use included |
Runway | Max | $76 billed yearly, $95 monthly | $19.00 or $23.75 | Not stated on the pricing page |
Creator | $24 billed yearly, $29 monthly | Not computed: credit cost per minute not shown | Watermark removal included; commercial use not shown | |
Starter, per seat | $10 billed yearly, $20 monthly | Not computed: credit cost per minute not shown | Not shown on the pricing page |
Checked in October 2026 on the vendor pricing pages: Kapwing pricing, Descript pricing, Synthesia pricing, Pictory pricing, Pika pricing, Luma pricing, Runway pricing, HeyGen pricing and InVideo pricing.
Mistakes to Avoid
- ×
Comparing a plan's price with a generator's per-second rate without converting both into finished minutes first.
- ×
Forgetting retries: the first take is rarely the one you ship, and every retry spends credits again.
- ×
Buying a monthly plan when annual billing is 14 to 50 percent cheaper for the same plan on this page.
- ×
- ×
Pricing a 1080p scene at a 720p rate, or the reverse, because Pika publishes its credit rate at 720p only.
Expert Tips
- →
Price four minutes first, then test one clip on the cheapest plan that passes both the watermark and the commercial-use check.
- →
- →
For prompt-to-clip work, budget the retries from the start, because the base credits only cover the first take.
- →
Compare annual with annual. The gap between monthly and yearly billing across the paid plans in this guide runs from 14 to 50 percent.
- →
Rerun the sum whenever a vendor changes its credit rate, since the rate differs by model on the credit-metered generators here: Pika, Luma and Runway.
Red Flags to Watch For
-
A headline price that applies only on annual billing, when the monthly price is 16 to 100 percent higher and goes unmentioned.
-
A free plan's watermark or 720p cap read as proof that the paid export will look the same.
-
A credit allowance that looks large until the per-second rate is applied: Runway Pro's 2,250 credits fall short, since four minutes need 2,880.
-
A cheaper plan that excludes commercial use, such as Pika's Starter, bought for client work.
The Bottom Line
For four finished one-minute videos a month, Synthesia Starter at $18 a month billed yearly is the cheapest pick if the video is a presenter avatar. Pika Creator at $28 a month billed yearly suits a prompt-generated clip that needs commercial use, though its credit rate is published only at 720p. Pictory Starter at $25 billed yearly fits script-to-video work with no watermark. Luma Pro and Runway Max cost about $19 a minute, so they pay off only when a shot cannot be made another way. Kapwing Pro and Descript Hobbyist are the cheapest per minute, but they edit footage you already have. The pricing pages for Synthesia and Pictory do not state commercial-use rights, so check them before client work.
Buy on the price of one finished minute, not the sticker price. The figures above were checked on vendor pages in October 2026. For the full set of 141 tools in the category, see AI video generation. Cite this: Toolradar, "Cheapest AI video generators 2026", October 2026.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the cheapest AI video generator in 2026?
For four finished one-minute videos a month at 1080p with no watermark, Synthesia's Starter plan is the cheapest generator priced for this scenario: about $4.50 per finished minute on annual billing, with logo removal listed. Its pricing page does not show commercial-use rights, so confirm them before client work.
Pictory Starter follows at about $6.25 a minute on annual billing, and Pika's Creator plan at about $7 a minute, though its credit rate is published only at 720p. Kapwing and Descript come in lower, but they edit footage you already shot instead of generating it, so they are not ranked as generators. InVideo AI's Starter costs $10 per seat on annual billing, but its page does not show credits per minute, so it cannot be priced on this scenario.
How much does an AI video generator cost per minute?
On annual billing, the generators that can be priced per minute cost about $4.50 to $19 per finished minute at the scenario: Synthesia about $4.50, Pictory about $6.25, Pika about $7, with its credit rate published only at 720p, and Luma and Runway close to $19 each.
The figure divides the plan price by four minutes. It assumes every generation is usable on the first take, so retries add cost on top of it.
Is there a free AI video generator?
Yes, but the free plans do not deliver a finished minute. Synthesia's Basic plan gives 10 minutes of video a month with its own logo. Kapwing's free plan exports at 720p with a watermark. Descript's free plan exports at 720p and grants 100 AI credits once. HeyGen's free plan allows three videos a month, each up to one minute.
Among the paid plans here, Pictory Starter, Kapwing Pro and Descript Hobbyist list watermark-free exports, and Synthesia Starter lists logo removal.
Does Pika include commercial use?
Yes, on the Creator plan. Pika's Starter is $8 a month billed yearly with 900 credits, and its page lists commercial use as not included. Creator is $28 a month billed yearly with 3,150 credits and commercial use included, and its page lists no watermark.
Pika's credit rate is published at 720p only, so a 1080p job needs that caveat before it is priced.
Is Runway cheaper than Luma for this scenario?
No, but only barely. Luma Pro comes to about $18.75 a minute against Runway Max's $19, and the two figures are not like for like. Runway Max is $76 a month billed yearly for 9,500 credits. Gen-4.5 costs 12 credits a second, so four minutes use 2,880 credits, or about $19 a minute. Luma Pro is $75 a month billed yearly for 40,000 credits. Ray3.14 at 1080p costs 80 credits a second, so four minutes use 19,200 credits, or about $18.75 a minute.
Runway's page states no resolution for its rate, while Luma's rate is for 1080p, so the two figures may not buy the same output.
Why are Kapwing and Descript in a guide about AI generators?
Because a buyer asking for the cheapest AI video tool may mean an editor, and both carry AI features. Kapwing Pro includes 4K export, no watermark and 1,000 AI credits. Descript Hobbyist includes 10 media hours and 400 AI credits per person, and its page does not label which price is annual.
Both cut and caption footage you shot. Read them as the cheapest way to finish existing footage, not as a generator of new scenes.
How much do retries add to the cost?
Each retry spends credits again, so the first-take figure is a floor. On Runway Max, the 2,880 credits for four minutes leave about 6,600 credits, enough for roughly 550 seconds of retries at 12 credits a second. On Luma Pro, the 19,200-credit base leaves about 20,800, or roughly 260 seconds at 80 credits a second. On Pika Creator, the 720p base of 1,584 credits leaves about 1,566, roughly 237 seconds at 6.6 credits a second.
Cite this page: Toolradar, "Cheapest AI Video Generators in 2026", updated October 2026, https://toolradar.com/guides/cheapest-ai-video-generators
Related Guides
Ready to Choose?
Compare features, read reviews, and find the right tool.
Some offers on this page may be paid placements or contain affiliate links.
