Aider Pricing 2026
Plans, hidden costs, and alternatives compared
Cite this data: Toolradar, Aider pricing verified Sep 2026, toolradar.com/tools/aider/pricing
Aider uses custom pricing.
Verified Sep 2026 from the official pricing page.
Is Aider worth the price?
Aider's pricing is exceptionally fair and generous, as it's a free tool with users only paying for their own LLM API usage, estimated at ~$0.007/file processed.
This model eliminates any upfront costs for the tool itself. It's best for developers who prefer full control over their LLM expenses and want a cost-effective AI pair programming solution.
Pricing Plans
Free
Custom
Usage-based pricing
- MIT license
- Bring your own API key
- All LLM providers
- Local models supported
How Aider compares
2 of 4 direct competitors offer a free plan.
| Tool | Starting price | Free plan |
|---|---|---|
| Aider | Contact sales | No |
| Cursor | $20/month, billing unit not specified | Yes |
| Claude Code | $20/month, billing unit not specified | No |
| GitHub Copilot | $10/month, billing unit not specified | Yes |
| Tabnine | $59/month, billing unit not specified | No |
Aider Pricing FAQ
How much does Aider cost?
Aider uses custom pricing. Contact Aider directly for a quote based on your team size and requirements.
Does Aider have a free plan?
Aider does not offer a permanent free plan. Paid plans are required from day one.
What are alternatives to Aider?
Alternatives to Aider include Cursor, Claude Code, GitHub Copilot, Tabnine. Cursor starts at $20/month, billing unit not specified; Claude Code starts at $20/month, billing unit not specified; GitHub Copilot starts at $10/month, billing unit not specified.
Aider alternatives
Direct competitors. Starting prices match the table above.
Sources
- Official Aider pricing: aider.chat (verified Sep 2026)
- Cite this data: Toolradar, Aider pricing verified Sep 2026, toolradar.com/tools/aider/pricing

Review Aider, get a free AI guide
Share your experience and we will send you Improve Your Thinking Patterns Using ChatGPT, free.