Claude Pricing 2026
Plans, hidden costs, and alternatives compared
Prices last confirmed on Nov 1, 2026 on claude.com. Same data as Markdown or JSON.
Cite this data: Toolradar, Claude pricing verified Nov 2026, toolradar.com/tools/anthropic-claude/pricing
Claude starts at $20/month on the Pro plan.
Verified Nov 2026 from the official pricing page.
Is Claude worth the price?
The current product is Fable 5 plus Opus 5, not Opus 4.6.
Pro at $20 (or $200/year) is the everyday seat and includes Claude Code. Max from $100 is how you buy Opus 5 as the default and more headroom.
Fable 5 on Pro is credit-limited; treat heavy Fable use as a Max job.
Pricing Plans
Free
Try Claude. Current-gen models with tight caps.
- Chat on web, iOS, Android, and desktop
- Web search, memory, files, and code execution
- Connectors and remote MCP
- Extended thinking
- Usage limits reset on a 5-hour window
Pro
$20/month
$20/month or $200/year. Everyday seat with Claude Code.
- More usage than Free (at least 5x per 5-hour session)
- Opus 5 is the strongest model on this plan
- Fable 5 via usage credits
- Claude Code, Cowork, Design, Science
- $17/mo if billed annually ($200 up front)
Max
$100/month
$100/month, monthly only. Default model is Opus 5.
- Opus 5 is the default model
- 5x Pro usage every 5 hours and every week
- Fable included, up to 50% of weekly limits
- $100/mo API credits
- Priority access at high traffic
- Early access to advanced features
Ultra
$200/month
$200/month, monthly only.
- 10x Pro usage every week
- No 5-hour limit (verified accounts)
- Fable included, up to 50% of weekly limits
- $200/mo API credits
- Highest individual usage tier
Team Standard
$20/month
Team seat. Mix with Premium seats if needed.
- 2 to 150 seats
- $20/seat annually or $25 monthly
- Claude Code, Cowork, Design, Science
- SSO and central billing
- More usage than Pro
Team Premium
$100/month
Heavy Team users.
- 5x Standard seat usage
- $100/seat annually or $125 monthly
- Same Team admin features
Enterprise
$20/month
Seat plus metered usage. Contact sales for tailored terms.
- $20/seat plus usage at API rates
- 500k context on the default model
- SCIM, audit logs, HIPAA-ready option
- Self-serve or sales-assisted
Hidden Costs & Gotchas
Fable 5 on Pro is usage credits, not unlimited frontier access.
Max still caps Fable 5 at 50% of weekly limits.
Enterprise is $20/seat plus API-rate usage, so the seat price is not the bill.
Our Recommendation
startup
Start on Pro annual if you will keep the seat a year. Move to Max when Pro caps or when you need Opus 5 as the default.
enterprise
Enterprise if you need 500k context, SCIM, or HIPAA-ready. Budget seat plus usage, not seat alone.
freelancer
Free until you hit caps. Then Pro. Skip Max unless you live in Claude Code all day.
small Business
Team Standard for SSO and shared billing. Premium seats only for the heavy users.
How Claude compares
5 of 6 direct competitors offer a free plan.
| Tool | Starting price | Free plan |
|---|---|---|
| Claude | $20/month, billing unit not specified | Yes |
| ChatGPT | $8/month, billing unit not specified | Yes |
| Perplexity AI | $20/month, billing unit not specified | Yes |
| Jasper Chat | $59/month, billing unit not specified | No |
| Grok | $30/month, billing unit not specified | Yes |
| Pi | Free | Yes |
| AnythingLLM | $50/month, billing unit not specified | Yes |
Claude Pricing FAQ
How much does Claude cost?
Claude starts at $20/month on the Pro plan. It offers 6 paid tiers ranging from $20/month to $200/month. A free plan is also available.
Does Claude have a free plan?
Yes. Claude offers a free plan called "Free". It includes: Chat on web, iOS, Android, and desktop, Web search, memory, files, and code execution, Connectors and remote MCP.
What is the cheapest Claude paid plan?
The cheapest paid plan for Claude is "Pro" at $20/month. Key features include: More usage than Free (at least 5x per 5-hour session), Opus 5 is the strongest model on this plan, Fable 5 via usage credits.
What are alternatives to Claude?
Alternatives to Claude include ChatGPT, Perplexity AI, Jasper Chat, Grok. Pi is fully free. ChatGPT starts at $8/month, billing unit not specified; Perplexity AI starts at $20/month, billing unit not specified; Jasper Chat starts at $59/month, billing unit not specified.
Claude alternatives
Direct competitors. Starting prices match the table above.
Sources
- Official Claude pricing: claude.com/pricing (verified Nov 2026)
- Cite this data: Toolradar, Claude pricing verified Nov 2026, toolradar.com/tools/anthropic-claude/pricing

Review Claude, get a free AI guide
Share your experience and we will send you Improve Your Thinking Patterns Using ChatGPT, free.