Scrivener Pricing 2026
Plans, hidden costs, and alternatives compared
Cite this data: Toolradar, Scrivener pricing verified Oct 2026, toolradar.com/tools/scrivener/pricing
Scrivener starts at $60/month on the Scrivener 3 plan.
Verified Oct 2026 from the official pricing page.
Is Scrivener worth the price?
Scrivener's one-time purchase price of $60 for Scrivener 3 is exceptionally fair and generous compared to the market, especially for a powerful, feature-rich writing tool.
This pricing model offers incredible long-term value, avoiding recurring subscription costs. It's best for serious writers, academics, and anyone undertaking long-form projects who prefers a perpetual license.
Pricing Plans
30-day Free TrialScrivener 3
$60/one-time
- Full writing environment
- Binder organization
- Corkboard view
- Outliner
- Compile to multiple formats
- Research storage
Bundle (Mac + Windows)
Discounted
- Both platform licenses
- Separate license per platform
- Full features on both
How Scrivener compares
3 of 5 direct competitors offer a free plan.
| Tool | Starting price | Free plan |
|---|---|---|
| Scrivener | $60/month, billing unit not specified | No |
| Ulysses | $4.17/month, billing unit not specified | No |
| Drafts | Free | Yes |
| iA Writer | No public price | No |
| Bear | $2.99/month, billing unit not specified | Yes |
| Novlr | $6/month, billing unit not specified | Yes |
Scrivener Pricing FAQ
How much does Scrivener cost?
Scrivener starts at $60/month on the Scrivener 3 plan.
Does Scrivener have a free plan?
Scrivener does not offer a permanent free plan. A free trial is available for 30 days.
Does Scrivener offer a free trial?
Yes. Scrivener offers a free trial lasting 30 days.
What are alternatives to Scrivener?
Alternatives to Scrivener include Ulysses, Drafts, iA Writer, Bear. Ulysses starts at $4.17/month, billing unit not specified; Bear starts at $2.99/month, billing unit not specified; Novlr starts at $6/month, billing unit not specified.
Scrivener alternatives
Direct competitors. Starting prices match the table above.
Sources
- Official Scrivener pricing: literatureandlatte.com/scrivener (verified Oct 2026)
- Cite this data: Toolradar, Scrivener pricing verified Oct 2026, toolradar.com/tools/scrivener/pricing

Review Scrivener, get a free AI guide
Share your experience and we will send you Improve Your Thinking Patterns Using ChatGPT, free.