Skip to content

Best Free LMS Software in 2026

TL;DR

Short answer: Moodle is the best free LMS in 2026 for anyone willing to self-host, the open-source core carries no license fee and no user limit. Google Classroom is the best free LMS for K-12 schools, included at no cost in Education Fundamentals for qualifying institutions. TalentLMS is the best free LMS for a small team that wants a hosted, no-setup tool, capped at 5 users and 10 courses before its Core plan starts at $119/mo. Skip Docebo and Absorb LMS if free matters: neither publishes a price or a self-serve free plan, both require a sales call.

Nine learning management systems checked for what actually ships free, from a self-hosted open-source platform with no user cap to enterprise names that publish no price at all, verified on vendor pricing pages in September 2026.

As featured in
  • TechCrunch
  • Forbes
  • Bloomberg
  • Business Insider
  • The Verge
61 LMS tools tracked

Type "free LMS" into a search bar and the results blur two different products together: a handful of platforms that genuinely cost nothing to run, and a much longer list of course-selling or corporate-training tools that only offer a short paid trial. Reading the vendor's own pricing page, not the word "free" on the homepage, is what separates the two.

Moodle tops this list because the LMS itself is open-source software with no license fee and no user cap, confirmed on its own product page; the catch is that you provide the hosting, or pay for MoodleCloud, which has no free tier of its own beyond a 28-day trial. Google Classroom is the clearest fit for schools: Google's own Workspace for Education comparison page states Education Fundamentals is available at no cost for qualifying institutions, with the paid Education Plus tier at $6.00 USD per user per year for schools that want more. TalentLMS is the strongest hosted option built to be used without a technical setup: its own pricing page confirms a free plan capped at 5 users and 10 courses, no credit card required.

Toolradar data: of the 61 LMS tools we track, 26% offer a free or freemium plan, and 39 tools (64%) are paid-only. That paid-only share includes several names buyers expect on a "best LMS" list, Docebo and Absorb LMS among them, whose own pricing pages confirm no published price and no self-serve free plan.

A ranking that also covers the strongest paid LMS platforms, including the enterprise tiers this page marks as not free, is best LMS platforms, which ranks by overall fit rather than free-plan availability; this page ranks the same market by what actually ships at $0, with each tool's free-plan status named up front. For buyer training specifically, see best customer education platforms, and for staff onboarding, best employee onboarding software.

How we chose: these nine were checked against the 61 tools in that LMS category, every price and free-plan limit below was verified on the vendor's own site in September 2026, and the ranking carries no paid placement.

Top Picks

Picked by editorial review, informed by G2 and Capterra review volume and rating and by media mentions, the signals behind our category rankings. How we rate

Best Free LMS Software in 2026 compared: starting price, rating and best use, as of September 2026
ToolStarting priceRatingBest for
MoodleFree (self-hosted); MoodleCloud paid4.13,841 reviewsSchools, nonprofits, or teams with server or IT support who want no license fee and no ceiling on users.
Google ClassroomFree; Education Plus $6/user/yr4.24,489 reviewsK-12 schools and nonprofits that qualify for Google Workspace for Education at no cost.
TalentLMSFree (5 users), or $119/mo (Core)4.61,409 reviewsSmall teams or solo trainers who want a ready-to-use hosted LMS without a trial deadline.
Thinkific30-day trial, then $54/mo (Basic)4.5612 reviewsCourse creators evaluating a full-featured platform who plan to pay once the 30-day trial ends.
Teachable7-day trial, then $39/mo (Starter)3.71,066 reviewsCreators who want to launch fast and are ready to commit to a paid plan within a week.
LearnWorlds30-day trial, then $29/mo (Starter)4.7389 reviewsCourse businesses that want AI course-building tools and can plan around no permanent free tier.
Canvas LMSCheck current pricing (quote-only)3.71,861 reviewsBuyers who already expect an institutional sales process and are not searching for a self-serve free plan.
DoceboCheck current pricing (quote-only)4.3992 reviewsLarger organizations (Docebo's own FAQ points to 250-plus learners) already planning a full sales evaluation, not buyers searching for free.
Absorb LMSFree trial (length set after signup)4.61,500 reviewsCorporate buyers evaluating onboarding, compliance, or partner training who are prepared to talk to sales.
1
Moodle logo

Moodle

Top Pick
  • 4.3 on Capterra (3,388 reviews)
  • 4.1 on G2 (448 reviews)
  • 3.6 on SourceForge (5 reviews)

Schools, nonprofits, or teams with server or IT support who want no license fee and no ceiling on users.

+The core LMS software carries no license fee and no built-in user cap, per Moodle's own product page, the only tool on this list with genuinely unlimited free use.
+Full control over branding, plugins, and data since the software runs on your own infrastructure, with no vendor-imposed feature gate on the open-source core.
+A large open community and documentation base supports self-hosted installs, useful when paid support is not in the budget.
−There is no free hosted option: MoodleCloud's cheapest plan starts at $170/yr for 50 users, confirmed in USD on Moodle's own MoodleCloud plans page, with only a 28-day trial before that.
−Self-hosting means someone has to install, secure, and maintain the server, a real cost in time even when the license itself is free.
Great value

Moodle's pricing is incredibly generous, offering a full-featured open-source option for free.

Watch out

Custom domain is an add-on for Medium tier

2
Google Classroom logo

Google Classroom

  • 4.6 on Capterra (2,906 reviews)
  • 4.5 on G2 (1,568 reviews)
  • 2.0 on Trustpilot (15 reviews)

K-12 schools and nonprofits that qualify for Google Workspace for Education at no cost.

+Education Fundamentals, which includes Classroom, is available at no cost for qualifying institutions, per Google's own Workspace for Education comparison page, with no user-count fee.
+Bundles Docs, Sheets, Slides, Gmail, Meet, and 100 TB of pooled cloud storage for the whole organization on the free tier, per Google's own pricing page.
+Education Plus adds advanced security, analytics, and more Gemini AI access at $6.00 a user a year, confirmed in USD on Google's own pricing page, for schools that outgrow the free tier.
−Eligibility is institutional, per Google's own page, an individual teacher or a for-profit training business cannot sign up for the free Education Fundamentals tier on their own.
−Classroom is one piece of a broader Workspace suite rather than a dedicated LMS, it lacks the course-selling tools, certifications, and detailed reporting a corporate or creator-led LMS provides.
Great value

Google Classroom's pricing is incredibly generous, starting with a free tier for core functionalities.

Watch out

Potential for storage overage fees on Drive

3
TalentLMS logo

TalentLMS

  • 4.6 on G2 (809 reviews)
  • 4.7 on Capterra (600 reviews)

Small teams or solo trainers who want a ready-to-use hosted LMS without a trial deadline.

TalentLMS screenshot
+The free plan allows up to 5 users and 10 courses with no time limit, per TalentLMS's own pricing page, unlike the trial-based platforms on this list.
+Unlimited email support ships on the free plan, per TalentLMS's own pricing page, along with a 100MB per-file upload allowance.
+Core, the first paid tier, is $119 a month and adds unlimited courses, SSO, and a custom domain, confirmed in USD on TalentLMS's own pricing page.
−The free plan caps out at 5 users and 10 courses, per TalentLMS's own pricing page, tight for any team past a small pilot.
−Branding customization is limited on the free plan, per TalentLMS's own pricing page, full white-labeling is a paid-tier feature.
Good value

TalentLMS offers a tiered pricing structure that can be considered fair for businesses needing robust LMS features, especially with the inclusion of AI tools.

Watch out

AI credits are limited per tier, potential overage costs.

4
Thinkific logo

Thinkific

  • 4.5 on G2 (405 reviews)
  • 4.4 on Capterra (207 reviews)

Course creators evaluating a full-featured platform who plan to pay once the 30-day trial ends.

+The 30-day trial gives full access to build courses, host a community, and test AI tools before paying, per Thinkific's own site, with no credit card required to start.
+Basic, the cheapest paid plan, includes unlimited courses and up to 10,000 current students, confirmed in USD on Thinkific's own pricing page.
+Billing annually instead of monthly saves $173 a year on the Basic plan, confirmed in USD on Thinkific's own pricing page.
−There is no free plan at all once the 30-day trial ends, per Thinkific's own pricing page, a real gap for anyone specifically searching for a permanent free tier.
−Even the entry Basic plan keeps Thinkific's own branding visible, removed only on the higher Grow plan, per Thinkific's own pricing page.
Good value

Thinkific is well-positioned for course creators who want 0% transaction fees.

Watch out

10,000 student limit on Basic/Start/Grow means Plus (custom pricing) is required at scale

5
Teachable logo

Teachable

  • 3.1 on Trustpilot (829 reviews)
  • 4.3 on Capterra (184 reviews)
  • 3.8 on G2 (52 reviews)
  • 4.5 on SourceForge (1 reviews)

Creators who want to launch fast and are ready to commit to a paid plan within a week.

+A 30-day money-back guarantee backs every paid plan on top of the 7-day trial, per Teachable's own pricing page, reducing the risk of committing early.
+Starter unlocks 5 products, AI-assisted course creation, and global payments at $39 a month, confirmed in USD on Teachable's own pricing page.
+Builder and Growth plans drop the transaction fee to 0%, per Teachable's own pricing page, once course sales are frequent enough to justify the higher tier.
−The trial is 7 days, per Teachable's own pricing page, the shortest evaluation window of any tool on this list before a card is required.
−Starter, the entry paid plan, still charges a 7.5% transaction fee on sales, confirmed on Teachable's own pricing page, on top of the monthly cost.
Fair value

Teachable's pricing is on the higher side, especially for beginners.

Watch out

7.5% transaction fee on Starter plan

6
LearnWorlds logo

LearnWorlds

  • 4.7 on G2 (389 reviews)

Course businesses that want AI course-building tools and can plan around no permanent free tier.

+The 30-day trial covers the platform's core features and functionality, per LearnWorlds's own site, before any payment is required.
+Starter includes 1,000 active learners a month and 300 AI credits a month at $29 a month, confirmed in USD on LearnWorlds's own pricing page.
+Annual billing brings Starter down to $24 a month, confirmed in USD on LearnWorlds's own pricing page, for buyers ready to commit past the trial.
−There is no lasting free plan, per LearnWorlds's own pricing page, and Starter adds a $5 fee per paid enrollment on top of the monthly price.
−Higher tiers jump quickly in price, Learning Center runs $299 a month before any discount, confirmed in USD on LearnWorlds's own pricing page, a steep step up from Starter.
Good value

LearnWorlds' pricing is generally fair, offering a good range of features across its tiers.

7
Canvas LMS logo

Canvas LMS

  • 4.5 on G2 (1,839 reviews)
  • 1.9 on Trustpilot (22 reviews)

Buyers who already expect an institutional sales process and are not searching for a self-serve free plan.

+Widely used across higher education and K-12, with 1,000-plus third-party tool integrations, per Instructure's own Canvas page, a strong fit for institutions already running an RFP process.
+Free mobile apps for students and instructors are confirmed on Instructure's own Canvas page, available regardless of the institution's paid plan.
+A replacement free tier for individual educators, Canvas Lite, is confirmed as in development on Instructure's own site, worth checking again once it ships.
−Individual Free-for-Teacher accounts no longer accept new signups, per Instructure's own site, and the announced Canvas Lite replacement was not yet live as of this guide's review date.
−Institutional pricing is entirely quote-only, per Instructure's own site, there is no dollar figure published anywhere for a buyer to budget against before a sales call.
Good value

Canvas offers a very generous free tier for individual teachers, making it highly accessible.

Watch out

Institutional pricing requires direct contact, no public rates.

8
Docebo logo

Docebo

  • 4.3 on G2 (750 reviews)
  • 4.4 on Capterra (242 reviews)

Larger organizations (Docebo's own FAQ points to 250-plus learners) already planning a full sales evaluation, not buyers searching for free.

+AI-powered content creation, multilingual training, and admin workflow automation ship in Docebo's entry tier, per Docebo's own pricing page, aimed at organizations scaling training fast.
+Docebo's own FAQ recommends the platform specifically for companies training 250 or more learners, useful for a buyer to self-qualify before a sales call.
+Usage-based pricing models (monthly, yearly, or registered active users) let a contract track how a company actually uses the platform, per Docebo's own pricing page.
−No price appears anywhere on Docebo's own pricing page, only 'Contact sales,' and there is no self-serve trial signup, only a demo request.
−Docebo's own FAQ steers smaller organizations elsewhere, this is not a fit for a solo trainer or small team hoping for a free or low-cost start.
Fair value

Docebo's 'contact sales' pricing model, coupled with a 250-user minimum, suggests a premium offering likely to be expensive compared to mid-market LMS solutions.

Watch out

Mandatory 250-user minimum

9
Absorb LMS logo

Absorb LMS

  • 4.6 on G2 (977 reviews)
  • 4.6 on Capterra (360 reviews)
  • 4.5 on TrustRadius (163 reviews)

Corporate buyers evaluating onboarding, compliance, or partner training who are prepared to talk to sales.

+A free trial link is offered directly on Absorb LMS's own site, unlike Docebo, which offers only a demo request with no self-serve trial at all.
+Aura, Absorb's built-in AI assistant, answers learner questions from assigned course content and can draft compliance courses from an updated policy document, per Absorb LMS's own site.
+A PCI-compliant course-selling storefront with 70 payment gateways ships without an added commission, per Absorb LMS's own site, useful for partner or customer training that also sells seats.
−The free trial's length is not published, per Absorb LMS's own site, it is set only after a form is submitted, unlike TalentLMS's clearly stated permanent free plan.
−No price appears anywhere on Absorb LMS's own site, a buyer cannot budget against a real number before starting the sales process.

Other LMS tools worth considering

More published tools from our LMS category, ordered by our category ranking. They are not part of the editorial picks above.

What counts as a free LMS

A genuinely free LMS lets a school, small team, or solo course creator publish real content and track real learners without a card on file or a countdown clock. Several vendors that show up in "free LMS" searches only offer a paid trial with an expiration date, not a lasting free tier, and the difference decides whether the tool is still usable in month two.

Free with no user cap, but you host it describes Moodle. Its own product page confirms the core platform is open-source with no license fee, unlimited courses, and no built-in user ceiling, the cost instead is server hosting, setup time, or a paid MoodleCloud plan if self-hosting is not an option.

Free for the institution, not the individual describes Google Classroom. Google's own Workspace for Education comparison page states Education Fundamentals, which includes Classroom, is available at no cost for qualifying schools and nonprofits, while individual paid add-ons like Education Plus run per user, per year.

Free with a fixed user and course count describes TalentLMS. Its own pricing page caps the free plan at 5 users and 10 courses with a 100MB per-file upload limit, generous enough for a pilot but tight for an active team.

Free trial only, no lasting free plan describes Thinkific, Teachable, and LearnWorlds. Thinkific's own pricing page confirms a 30-day free trial and no free tier, Teachable offers a 7-day trial before its cheapest paid plan, and LearnWorlds runs a 30-day trial with the same result: nothing stays free past the trial window.

No public price and no self-serve free plan describes Canvas LMS, Docebo, and Absorb LMS. Canvas's institutional pricing is quote-only, per Instructure's own site, and its individual Free-for-Teacher accounts were discontinued; a replacement called Canvas Lite was not yet live as of this guide's review date. Docebo's own pricing page shows two custom tiers with no dollar figure and no trial signup, only a demo request. Absorb LMS offers a free trial through its own site, but with no published price and no self-serve free plan, the length is set after a sales conversation, not stated on the page.

If the project can live inside a paid trial's window, or if a real budget is available once the trial ends, the broader ranking that covers every tier is best LMS platforms.

Why the free-plan status decides which LMS actually fits

An LMS that looks free in a search snippet but turns out to be a 7-day trial wastes more time than it saves, because course content and enrolled learners are already inside the tool when the bill arrives. TalentLMS draws the clearest permanent line: its own pricing page caps the free plan at 5 users and 10 courses with no expiration date, so a small pilot can run indefinitely as long as it stays under that ceiling.

Moodle sits at the other extreme of what "free" means. The software itself carries no license cost according to Moodle's own site, but nothing about hosting, maintenance, or support is included, a school or company either runs its own server or buys a hosted plan through MoodleCloud or a Moodle Solutions partner, where prices start well above what a corporate buyer might expect from a "free" LMS.

Canvas LMS shows the real risk in this category: Instructure's own site confirms its individual Free-for-Teacher accounts stopped accepting new signups, and the replacement free tier, Canvas Lite, had not launched as of this guide's review date, with only a notice that it was "coming soon." A reader who assumes Canvas still has a free individual account today would be planning around a product that, as of September 2026, does not exist yet.

Docebo and Absorb LMS illustrate a different pattern common at the corporate end of this market: both vendors' own pricing pages show no dollar figure at all, corporate LMS platforms built for hundreds or thousands of learners rarely publish self-serve pricing, let alone a free tier, and a buyer chasing "free" in this segment should expect a sales call before seeing any number.

Reading each vendor's own pricing page for the words "free plan" versus "free trial," rather than trusting the word "free" in a search result, is what tells a reader whether an LMS will still be usable once the trial clock runs out.

Key Features to Look For

  • Whether the free tier expires (Essential)

    TalentLMS's free plan (5 users, 10 courses) and Google Classroom's Education Fundamentals (free for qualifying schools) do not expire, per each vendor's own page. Thinkific, Teachable, and LearnWorlds run time-boxed trials of 30, 7, and 30 days instead, per their own pricing pages.

  • Self-hosted versus hosted (Essential)

    Moodle's core software is free with no license fee, but running it means self-hosting or paying for MoodleCloud, per Moodle's own product page. TalentLMS, Google Classroom, and the trial-based platforms are fully hosted, nothing to install.

  • User or learner caps on the free tier (Essential)

    TalentLMS caps its free plan at 5 users; MoodleCloud's cheapest paid plan (there is no free MoodleCloud tier) covers 50 users at $170/yr, confirmed in USD on Moodle's own hosting page. Google Classroom's Education Fundamentals sets no learner cap for qualifying institutions.

  • Whether a real price is published at all (Important)

    Docebo and Absorb LMS show no dollar figure on their own pricing pages, only a demo or trial request form. Canvas LMS's institutional pricing is the same, quote-only, per Instructure's own site.

  • Course and content limits (Important)

    TalentLMS's free plan caps courses at 10 with a 100MB per-file upload limit. Moodle sets no course limit at all on the open-source software, per its own product page, the practical ceiling is server storage, not a license restriction.

  • Branding and white-labeling on the free tier (Nice to have)

    TalentLMS's own pricing page describes limited branding customization on its free plan, with full white-labeling reserved for paid tiers. Moodle, being self-hosted, allows full branding control by default since there is no vendor-imposed theme.

  • Support level on the free tier (Nice to have)

    TalentLMS's free plan includes email support, per its own pricing page. Moodle's free software comes with community forums and documentation rather than vendor support, paid Moodle Solutions add dedicated support.

  • Course selling and monetization (Nice to have)

    Thinkific and Teachable both build in payment processing and course-selling tools even on their trial period, useful for creators, but neither reaches a lasting free plan, per each vendor's own pricing page.

What to decide before picking a free LMS

  1. If in-house hosting or IT support is available, Moodle's no-license-fee core beats every hosted option here on cost, at the price of setup and maintenance work. See how it stacks up feature by feature at Moodle vs TalentLMS.

  2. If the buyer is a K-12 school or nonprofit, Google Classroom through Education Fundamentals is free for the whole institution, not just a trial window, the single clearest free fit on this list for that audience.

  3. If the team wants a hosted tool with zero setup and can live under 5 users and 10 courses, TalentLMS's free plan has no expiration date, unlike every course-selling platform on this page.

  4. If the project needs more than a trial window, budget for a real plan before starting: Thinkific, Teachable, and LearnWorlds all expect payment once their 30-day, 7-day, or 30-day trial ends, per each vendor's own pricing page.

  5. If the organization is corporate-scale (hundreds of learners, compliance tracking, SSO), Docebo and Absorb LMS may still be the right fit, but budget for a sales process, neither publishes a price or a free plan a buyer can start alone.

Evaluation Checklist

  • On Moodle, estimate hosting cost separately from the software itself, either a self-managed server or a MoodleCloud plan, before comparing its total cost to a hosted competitor.

  • On Google Classroom, confirm your school or nonprofit qualifies for Education Fundamentals at no cost, per Google's own eligibility note, before assuming every organization gets the free tier.

  • On TalentLMS, add up your real user and course count against the free plan's 5-user, 10-course cap, and note the 100MB per-file upload limit for video-heavy courses.

  • On Thinkific, Teachable, and LearnWorlds, calendar the exact trial end date (30, 7, and 30 days respectively) before content and enrolled students depend on the platform.

  • On Canvas LMS, do not assume a Free-for-Teacher signup is still available, Instructure's own site confirms it stopped accepting new accounts, with a Canvas Lite replacement not yet live as of this guide's review date.

  • On Docebo and Absorb LMS, request pricing early in the evaluation, since neither vendor's own site prints a number, and factor in the sales cycle before committing evaluation time.

Pricing Overview

Free, no expiration, self-hosted

Moodle, whose open-source core carries no license cost or user cap, per Moodle's own product page, with hosting handled separately.

$0 license fee (hosting extra)

Free, no expiration, for qualifying institutions

Google Classroom, included at no cost in Google Workspace for Education Fundamentals for qualifying schools and nonprofits, per Google's own comparison page.

$0 for Education Fundamentals

Free, no expiration, fixed caps

TalentLMS, the only fully hosted, general-purpose platform on this list with a permanent free plan, per its own pricing page.

$0, up to 5 users and 10 courses

Free trial only, no lasting free plan

Thinkific (30-day trial), Teachable (7-day trial), and LearnWorlds (30-day trial), each confirmed on its own pricing page to require payment after the trial.

$0 for 7 to 30 days

No published price, sales-led only

Canvas LMS, Docebo, and Absorb LMS, none of which publish a self-serve price or a lasting free tier on their own sites.

Contact sales

Pricing Comparison

Best Free LMS Software in 2026 pricing comparison, as of September 2026
ToolFree plan coversPaid price (if any)Currency note

Moodle

Open-source LMS, unlimited courses, no user cap, self-hosted

MoodleCloud (hosted): from $170/yr for 50 users, 1GB storage

USD confirmed on Moodle's own MoodleCloud plans page

Included at no cost in Education Fundamentals for qualifying schools

Education Plus: $6.00/user/yr

USD confirmed on Google's own Workspace for Education pricing page

5 users, 10 courses, 100MB per-file uploads, email support

Core $119/mo; Grow $229/mo; Pro $449/mo (billed monthly rate)

USD confirmed on TalentLMS's own pricing page

Thinkific

None, 30-day free trial only, no lasting free tier

Basic $54/mo ($40/mo billed annually)

USD confirmed on Thinkific's own pricing page

Teachable

None, 7-day free trial only, no lasting free tier

Starter $39/mo ($29/mo billed annually)

USD confirmed on Teachable's own pricing page

None, 30-day free trial only, no lasting free tier

Starter $29/mo ($24/mo billed annually)

USD confirmed on LearnWorlds's own pricing page

None, individual Free-for-Teacher accounts no longer accept signups

Check current pricing (institutional, quote-only)

No list price of any currency on Instructure's own Canvas site

Docebo

None published

Check current pricing (entry tier and Enterprise, quote-only)

No list price of any currency on Docebo's own pricing page

None, free trial available, length set after a form submission

Check current pricing (quote-only)

No list price of any currency on Absorb LMS's own pricing page

Checked against vendor sites on September 25, 2026: Moodle, MoodleCloud plans, Google Workspace for Education pricing, TalentLMS pricing, Thinkific pricing, Teachable pricing, LearnWorlds pricing, Canvas LMS, Canvas Free-for-Teacher notice, Docebo pricing and Absorb LMS free trial.

Canvas LMS's individual Free-for-Teacher signup is closed, per Instructure's own site, which states a replacement called Canvas Lite is coming but was not yet live as of this guide's review date. Docebo's own pricing page names two tiers, its entry tier and Enterprise, with no dollar figure on either. Absorb LMS's own site links to a free trial with no published length or price.

For the paid-inclusive ranking, see best LMS platforms. For adjacent training use cases, see best customer education platforms and best employee onboarding software.

Mistakes to Avoid

  • ×

    Treating 'free trial' and 'free plan' as the same thing. Thinkific, Teachable, and LearnWorlds each confirm on their own pricing pages that nothing stays free once their 30-day, 7-day, or 30-day trial ends; only TalentLMS and Google Classroom carry a permanent free tier among the hosted platforms here.

  • ×

    Assuming Canvas still offers a free individual account. Instructure's own site confirms Free-for-Teacher stopped accepting new signups, with its replacement, Canvas Lite, not yet live as of this guide's review date.

  • ×

    Confusing Moodle the software with MoodleCloud the hosted product. The open-source core has no license fee, per Moodle's own product page, but MoodleCloud's cheapest paid plan covers only 50 users, confirmed on Moodle's own hosting page, past a 28-day trial.

  • ×

    Expecting Docebo or Absorb LMS to publish a starting price. Both vendors' own pricing pages show tier names with no dollar figure, a buyer should expect a sales conversation, not a self-serve signup.

  • ×

    Picking TalentLMS's free plan without checking the 5-user cap first. A team of 8 or 10 will hit that ceiling immediately, per TalentLMS's own pricing page, well before Core's paid features become relevant.

Expert Tips

  • →

    Separate the software cost from the hosting cost before comparing Moodle to a hosted competitor. The license is free; server time, setup, and maintenance are not, per Moodle's own product page.

  • →

    Confirm your school or nonprofit's Education Fundamentals eligibility directly with Google before assuming Google Classroom is free for your use case. The no-cost tier is qualification-based, per Google's own comparison page.

  • →

    Calendar the exact trial end date for Thinkific, Teachable, or LearnWorlds the day you sign up. 30, 7, and 30 days pass faster than expected once course content is already loaded.

  • →

    Ask Absorb LMS for the trial length in writing before starting. Its own site does not publish the number, and getting it confirmed early avoids a surprise mid-evaluation.

  • →

    Use TalentLMS's 100MB per-file upload cap as a planning constraint, not an afterthought. Video-heavy courses can hit that limit fast on the free plan, per TalentLMS's own pricing page.

  • →

    Check back on Canvas Lite before assuming Canvas has no free option at all. Instructure's own site describes it as coming soon, not cancelled, as of this guide's review date.

Red Flags to Watch For

  • !

    A 'free' course platform that is actually a paid trial with a clock. Thinkific, Teachable, and LearnWorlds each confirm on their own pricing pages that there is no lasting free tier, only a 30-day, 7-day, or 30-day trial.

  • !

    An individual free LMS account that no longer accepts signups. Instructure's own site confirms Canvas Free-for-Teacher stopped registering new accounts, with its replacement, Canvas Lite, still listed as 'coming soon' as of this guide's review date.

  • !

    A vendor pricing page with no dollar figure anywhere. Docebo's own pricing page shows two named tiers, its entry tier and Enterprise, with zero price shown, only a 'Contact sales' link.

  • !

    A free trial with no published length. Absorb LMS's own site offers a free trial link but does not state how many days it runs, that detail is set after a form submission.

  • !

    Confusing the open-source software with the hosted product. Moodle the software is free with no license fee, but MoodleCloud, Moodle's own hosted option, has no free plan of its own beyond a 28-day trial, per Moodle's own hosting page.

The Bottom Line

Choose Moodle when server hosting or IT support is available and the goal is unlimited free use with full control over branding and data. It is the only tool here with no license fee and no user cap on the software itself.

Choose Google Classroom when the buyer is a qualifying K-12 school or nonprofit, Education Fundamentals is free for the whole institution, not a trial window. Choose TalentLMS when a hosted, no-setup tool is the priority and the team fits under 5 users and 10 courses; its free plan (see its card above) has no expiration date, unlike every course-selling platform on this list.

Choose Thinkific, Teachable, or LearnWorlds only if a real budget is ready once their 30-day, 7-day, or 30-day trial ends, none of the three carries a lasting free tier. Skip Canvas LMS, Docebo, and Absorb LMS if a self-serve free plan is the requirement: Canvas's individual free signup is closed pending Canvas Lite, and Docebo and Absorb LMS publish no price at all, only a sales process.

Cite this: Toolradar, "Best Free LMS Software in 2026", September 2026. Prices and free-plan limits checked on vendor pages in September 2026. No paid placement. Compared with the 61 LMS tools we track.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the best free LMS software in 2026?

Moodle, because the open-source software itself carries no license fee and no user cap, confirmed on Moodle's own product page, the tradeoff is that hosting is not included and must be self-managed or bought separately through MoodleCloud.

Google Classroom is the strongest pick for K-12 schools and nonprofits, free at the institution level through Education Fundamentals. TalentLMS is the best fully hosted option with a permanent free plan, capped at 5 users and 10 courses, no expiration date.

Is Moodle really free?

The core LMS software is, per Moodle's own product page: no license fee, unlimited courses, and no built-in user cap for a self-hosted install.

What is not free is the hosting. Running your own server costs time and infrastructure, and MoodleCloud, Moodle's own hosted option, starts at $170/yr for 50 users (confirmed in USD on Moodle's own plans page) after a 28-day trial, there is no free MoodleCloud tier.

Does Canvas LMS have a free plan?

Not currently for individuals. Instructure's own site confirms Canvas Free-for-Teacher accounts stopped accepting new signups, and its announced replacement, Canvas Lite, was listed as coming soon rather than live as of this guide's September 2026 review date.

Canvas's institutional pricing is quote-only, per Instructure's own site, with no dollar figure published for schools or districts evaluating the platform.

Which LMS platforms have no lasting free plan at all?

Thinkific, Teachable, and LearnWorlds each confirm on their own pricing pages that they offer a free trial only, 30, 7, and 30 days respectively, with payment required afterward to keep using the platform.

Docebo and Absorb LMS go a step further: neither publishes a price on its own site at all, corporate LMS buyers at that end of the market should expect a sales conversation before seeing any figure, free or paid.

Is Google Classroom completely free?

For qualifying schools and nonprofits, yes: Google's own Workspace for Education comparison page states Education Fundamentals, which includes Classroom, is available at no cost for eligible institutions.

Education Plus, the paid upgrade with added security and analytics, costs $6.00 a user a year, confirmed in USD on Google's own pricing page, for institutions that want more than Fundamentals includes.

How much does TalentLMS cost once the free plan runs out?

Up to 5 users and 10 courses, a 100MB per-file upload limit, and unlimited email support, all confirmed on TalentLMS's own pricing page, with no expiration date on the free tier itself.

Once a team outgrows that cap, Core, the first paid plan, starts at $119 a month, confirmed in USD on TalentLMS's own pricing page, and adds unlimited courses, SSO, and a custom domain.

Which free LMS is best for a small business or training team?

TalentLMS, whose free plan needs no setup beyond an account, and stays free indefinitely under 5 users and 10 courses, per its own pricing page. It suits a small team piloting a training program before committing budget.

For a team with in-house IT capacity, Moodle's self-hosted core removes the user cap entirely, at the cost of managing the server. Neither Docebo nor Absorb LMS fits a small-business budget: both are quote-only, aimed at larger organizations.

Cite this page: Toolradar, "Best Free LMS Software in 2026", updated September 2026, https://toolradar.com/guides/best-free-lms-software

Related Guides

Ready to Choose?

Compare features, read reviews, and find the right tool.