Skip to content
Bitwarden logo

Bitwarden Pricing 2026

Plans, hidden costs, and alternatives compared

Prices last confirmed on Oct 30, 2026 on bitwarden.com. Same data as Markdown or JSON.

Reviews on G2 Capterra
5 plans tracked Updated Oct 2026

Cite this data: Toolradar, Bitwarden pricing verified Oct 2026, toolradar.com/tools/bitwarden/pricing

Bitwarden starts at $1.65/month on the Premium plan.

Verified Oct 2026 from the official pricing page.

Is Bitwarden worth the price?

Great value

Bitwarden is the best value in password management, period.

The free tier is genuinely usable with unlimited devices and vault items, most competitors paywall basic features like multi-device sync. Premium at $1.65/month ($19.80/year) adds TOTP authenticator, emergency access, and security reports.

Families at $3.99/month covers 6 users. The open-source codebase and option to self-host give Bitwarden a trust advantage no competitor matches.

The only downside: the UI is functional rather than polished, and the browser extension can feel slower than 1Password.

Pricing Plans

Free

  • Unlimited devices
  • Unlimited vault items
  • Passkey management
  • Password generator
  • Zero-knowledge encryption
  • Sharing with one user

Premium

$1.65/month

  • Integrated authenticator (TOTP)
  • 5 GB file attachments
  • Emergency access
  • Phishing blocker
  • Security reports
  • Vault health reports

Families

$3.99/month

  • 6 premium accounts
  • Unlimited sharing
  • Unlimited collections
  • 5 GB personal + 5 GB org storage

Teams

$4/month

  • Unlimited users
  • Unlimited sharing via collections
  • API access
  • Event and audit logs
  • User groups
  • Directory Connector & SCIM
  • Priority 24/7 email support

Enterprise

$6/month

  • All Teams features
  • Passwordless SSO integration
  • Custom roles
  • Policies
  • Access Intelligence
  • Free Families plan per user
  • Account recovery workflow
  • Self-host option

Hidden Costs & Gotchas

Self-hosting requires server infrastructure, expect $5-20/month for a VPS plus maintenance time. Most users are better off with the hosted version.

Premium is required for TOTP authenticator, if you rely on Bitwarden for 2FA codes, the free tier will not work.

Families plan includes 5 GB personal + 5 GB org storage for attachments. Heavy file users may find this tight, though few password managers offer more.

Business plans require annual billing, no monthly option. Budget the full year upfront.

Enterprise SSO integration requires the $6/user/month tier. Teams at $4/user/month lacks SSO, SCIM custom roles, and account recovery.

How Bitwarden compares

3 of 6 direct competitors offer a free plan.

Starting price and free plan: Bitwarden and its direct competitors
Tool Starting price Free plan
Bitwarden $1.65/month, billing unit not specified Yes
1Password $3.99/month flat for the whole organisation No
LastPass $3/month, billing unit not specified Yes
Dashlane $11/month, billing unit not specified No
NordPass $2.99/month, billing unit not specified Yes
Keeper $1.79/month, billing unit not specified No
GPS Free Yes

Bitwarden Pricing FAQ

How much does Bitwarden cost?

Bitwarden starts at $1.65/month on the Premium plan. It offers 4 paid tiers ranging from $1.65/month to $6/user/month. A free plan is also available.

Does Bitwarden have a free plan?

Yes. Bitwarden offers a free plan called "Free". It includes: Unlimited devices, Unlimited vault items, Passkey management.

What is the cheapest Bitwarden paid plan?

The cheapest paid plan for Bitwarden is "Premium" at $1.65/month. Key features include: Integrated authenticator (TOTP), 5 GB file attachments, Emergency access.

What are alternatives to Bitwarden?

Alternatives to Bitwarden include 1Password, LastPass, Dashlane, NordPass. GPS is fully free. 1Password starts at $3.99/month flat for the whole organisation; LastPass starts at $3/month, billing unit not specified; Dashlane starts at $11/month, billing unit not specified.

Bitwarden alternatives

Direct competitors. Starting prices match the table above.

Sources

  • Official Bitwarden pricing: bitwarden.com/pricing (verified Oct 2026)
  • Cite this data: Toolradar, Bitwarden pricing verified Oct 2026, toolradar.com/tools/bitwarden/pricing
Improve Your Thinking Patterns Using ChatGPT cover
$99 Free with your review

Review Bitwarden, get a free AI guide

Share your experience and we will send you Improve Your Thinking Patterns Using ChatGPT, free.

Write a review