Skip to content
Patreon logo

Patreon Pricing 2026

Plans, hidden costs, and alternatives compared

Reviews on G2 Capterra
1 plans tracked Updated Sep 2026

Cite this data: Toolradar, Patreon pricing verified Sep 2026, toolradar.com/tools/patreon/pricing

Patreon pricing: 10% of Patreon income.

Verified Sep 2026 from the official pricing page.

Is Patreon worth the price?

Fair value

Patreon charges a flat 10% platform fee (as of August 2025) plus payment processing fees that bring the real cost to 12-15% of gross revenue.

Free to start, but the fee stack adds up. The iOS in-app purchase surcharge (~30% Apple tax passed to patrons) is a significant hidden cost that reduces conversions on mobile.

Pricing Plans

Most Popular

Creator

10%

of Patreon income

Free to start

  • Pay only when earning
  • + payment processing fees
  • Memberships & products

Hidden Costs & Gotchas

Payment processing

2.9% + $0.30 per transaction (5% + $0.10 for pledges ≤$3)

Currency conversion

2.5% fee when patron currency differs from payout currency

Payout fees

$0.25 per bank transfer or 1% for PayPal (capped at $20)

iOS in-app purchases

Apple takes ~30%, passed as ~43% price increase to patrons

Legacy creators grandfathered at 5%/8%/12%, but lose it permanently if they unpublish

Our Recommendation

creator

The 10% rate is competitive for the feature set (video hosting, podcasting, community). But push patrons to use web checkout, iOS purchases cost patrons 30-43% more.

startup

Patreon works for creator-led startups building community. But 12-15% total fees are steep, consider Gumroad (10% flat) for digital product sales instead.

freelancer

Good for recurring creative income. At $5,000/month revenue, expect $675-$815 in total fees. Compare Ko-fi (0% platform fee on donations) for lower-volume creators.

How Patreon compares

3 of 6 direct competitors offer a free plan.

ToolStarting priceFree plan
Patreon10% feeNo
Ko-fi$6/month, billing unit not specifiedYes
Buy Me a Coffee$5/month, billing unit not specifiedYes
Substack10% feeYes
Gumroad10% feeNo
Memberful$49/month, billing unit not specifiedNo
Payhip$29/month, billing unit not specifiedNo

Patreon Pricing FAQ

How much does Patreon cost?

Patreon has no subscription price: 10% of Patreon income.

Does Patreon have a free plan?

Patreon does not offer a permanent free plan. Paid plans are required from day one.

What are alternatives to Patreon?

Alternatives to Patreon include Ko-fi, Buy Me a Coffee, Substack, Gumroad. Ko-fi starts at $6/month, billing unit not specified; Buy Me a Coffee starts at $5/month, billing unit not specified; Memberful starts at $49/month, billing unit not specified.

Patreon alternatives

Direct competitors. Starting prices match the table above.

Sources

  • Official Patreon pricing: www.patreon.com/pricing (verified Sep 2026)
  • Cite this data: Toolradar, Patreon pricing verified Sep 2026, toolradar.com/tools/patreon/pricing
Improve Your Thinking Patterns Using ChatGPT cover
$99 Free with your review

Review Patreon, get a free AI guide

Share your experience and we will send you Improve Your Thinking Patterns Using ChatGPT, free.

Write a review