Skip to content
PayPal logo

PayPal Pricing 2026

Plans, hidden costs, and alternatives compared

Reviews on G2 Capterra SourceForge Trustpilot
5 plans tracked Updated Sep 2026

Cite this data: Toolradar, PayPal pricing verified Sep 2026, toolradar.com/tools/paypal/pricing

PayPal starts at $14.99/month on the Invoicing subscription plan.

Verified Sep 2026 from the official pricing page.

Is PayPal worth the price?

Good value

PayPal does not sell a SaaS seat.

US merchants pay a published take rate. Domestic Checkout is 3.49% + $0.49.

Cards on invoices are 2.99% + $0.49. QR is 2.29% + $0.49.

Pay Later is 4.99% + $0.49. The optional invoicing subscription is $14.99/mo.

This is best for sellers who want the official US fee table in one place, not a guessed $0 plan.

Pricing Plans

PayPal Checkout (US domestic)

3.49%

+ $0.49

  • PayPal Checkout
  • Guest Checkout
  • Pay with Venmo
  • US merchant accounts, July 15 2026 fee table

Cards and wallets

2.99%

+ $0.49

  • Standard credit and debit cards
  • Apple Pay and other third-party wallets on invoices

QR code

Third-party integrator QR is 2.29%

+ $0.09

  • QR code transactions

Pay Later

4.99%

+ $0.49

  • PayPal Pay Later options

Invoicing subscription

$14.99/month

  • Invoice Subscription Service
  • $14.99/mo plus the per-transaction rates above

Hidden Costs & Gotchas

Fixed fee for USD is $0.49 on the official US table. QR via a third-party integrator is $0.09 instead.

International receiving adds 1.50% on top of the domestic commercial rate.

Pay by Bank (ACH) on invoicing is 1% capped at $10.00 per transaction.

Invoice Subscription Service is $14.99/mo plus the same per-payment rates. Chargeback and risk uplifts can add up to 5% after 30 days notice.

Crypto buy/sell on a business account is a separate % band (2.20% down to 1.50% by size). PYUSD is excluded from that band.

Which Plan Do You Need?

US seller taking PayPal Checkout → Standard domestic rate

3.49% + $0.49 per official US merchant fee table (updated July 15, 2026).

In-person QR → QR code

2.29% + $0.49. Integrator QR is 2.29% + $0.09.

How PayPal compares

4 of 6 direct competitors offer a free plan.

ToolStarting priceFree plan
PayPal$14.99/month, billing unit not specifiedNo
StripeContact salesYes
Square$49/month, billing unit not specifiedYes
Adyen$0.13/month, billing unit not specifiedNo
WiseFreeYes
Payoneer3.2% feeYes
Paddle5% feeNo

PayPal Pricing FAQ

How much does PayPal cost?

PayPal starts at $14.99/month on the Invoicing subscription plan.

Does PayPal have a free plan?

PayPal does not offer a permanent free plan. Paid plans are required from day one.

What are alternatives to PayPal?

Alternatives to PayPal include Stripe, Square, Adyen, Wise. Square starts at $49/month, billing unit not specified; Adyen starts at $0.13/month, billing unit not specified.

PayPal alternatives

Direct competitors. Starting prices match the table above.

Sources

Improve Your Thinking Patterns Using ChatGPT cover
$99 Free with your review

Review PayPal, get a free AI guide

Share your experience and we will send you Improve Your Thinking Patterns Using ChatGPT, free.

Write a review