Skip to content
Snowflake logo

Snowflake Pricing 2026

Plans, hidden costs, and alternatives compared

Reviews onG2CapterraTrustpilot
3 plans tracked·Updated Sep 2026

Cite this data: Toolradar, Snowflake pricing verified Sep 2026, toolradar.com/tools/snowflake/pricing

Snowflake starts at $2/month on the Standard plan.

Verified Sep 2026 from the official pricing page.

Is Snowflake worth the price?

Good value

Snowflake's consumption-based pricing starts at ~$2/credit (Standard) and scales to ~$4/credit (Business Critical), with storage at $23-40/TB/month depending on commitment level.

For a typical mid-market analytics team running 5-10 queries daily across a few terabytes, expect $2,000-10,000/month, competitive with BigQuery and Databricks for similar workloads. The model rewards disciplined warehouse management and punishes always-on clusters.

The 30-day free trial with $400 in credits is generous enough to run a real proof-of-concept. The biggest advantage is true separation of storage and compute, so you never pay for idle resources if you configure warehouses correctly.

The biggest risk is runaway costs from poorly optimized queries or warehouses left running, Snowflake will happily burn through credits 24/7 if you let it.

Pricing Plans

Free Trial

Standard

$2/per credit

  • Full SQL support
  • Secure data sharing
  • 24/7 support

Enterprise

$3/per credit

  • Everything in Standard
  • Multi-cluster warehouse
  • 90-day time travel

Business Critical

$4/per credit

  • Everything in Enterprise
  • HIPAA/PCI compliance
  • Enhanced security

Hidden Costs & Gotchas

Warehouses that are not configured to auto-suspend burn credits continuously. A Medium warehouse (4 credits/hour) left running 24/7 costs ~$5,760/month at Standard pricing, most of it wasted on idle time.

Serverless features (Snowpipe, tasks, materialized views) consume credits automatically in the background. Cloud services usage is free up to 10% of your daily compute spend, but exceeding that threshold triggers additional charges that are hard to predict.

Data transfer between regions or cloud providers costs $0.01-0.04 per GB. Cross-cloud data sharing sounds free, but the underlying transfer fees add up quickly for large datasets.

Storage costs are listed at $40/TB on-demand, but Fail-Safe storage (7-day recovery) adds ~$25/TB on top of your active storage, effectively increasing your storage bill by 60% if you have significant historical data.

Time Travel (data recovery) defaults to 1 day on Standard but can be extended to 90 days on Enterprise, each additional day of retention increases storage costs proportionally.

Enterprise edition costs ~50% more per credit than Standard ($3 vs $2). Business Critical costs ~100% more ($4 vs $2). The feature differences (multi-cluster warehouses, materialized views, enhanced security) often force mid-market companies onto Enterprise, doubling the effective compute bill.

Annual capacity commitments offer 15-40% discounts ($1.50-2.50/credit) but require upfront commitment. Overestimate and you waste money on unused credits; underestimate and on-demand overages are charged at full price.

Our Recommendation

startup

Start with Standard edition and on-demand pricing to avoid commitment. Use auto-suspend aggressively (set to 1 minute) and right-size warehouses. At <$2,000/month in spend, BigQuery on-demand is usually cheaper and requires zero ops work.

enterprise

Business Critical is required for HIPAA, PCI-DSS, and SOC compliance. Negotiate multi-year capacity contracts for the steepest discounts (30-40% off on-demand). Always benchmark against Databricks and BigQuery before signing, Snowflake sales teams have significant flexibility on pricing for large commitments.

freelancer

The 30-day free trial with $400 in credits is enough for evaluation, but Snowflake is not designed for individual use. For personal analytics projects, BigQuery's free tier (1 TB queries/month) or DuckDB (free, local) are better fits.

small Business

Enterprise edition becomes worthwhile when you need multi-cluster warehouses for concurrent users or materialized views. Negotiate an annual capacity contract once your monthly spend consistently exceeds $5,000, expect 20-30% discounts.

How Snowflake compares

2 of 3 direct competitors offer a free plan.

ToolStarting priceFree plan
Snowflake$2/month, billing unit not specifiedNo
DatabricksContact salesNo
Firebolt$0.35/month, billing unit not specifiedYes
RerunContact salesYes

Snowflake Pricing FAQ

How much does Snowflake cost?

Snowflake starts at $2/month on the Standard plan. It offers 3 paid tiers ranging from $2/month to $4/month.

Does Snowflake have a free plan?

Snowflake does not offer a permanent free plan. A free trial is available.

Does Snowflake offer a free trial?

Yes. Snowflake offers a free trial.

What is the cheapest Snowflake paid plan?

The cheapest paid plan for Snowflake is "Standard" at $2/month. Key features include: Full SQL support, Secure data sharing, 24/7 support.

What are alternatives to Snowflake?

Alternatives to Snowflake include Databricks, Firebolt, Rerun. Firebolt starts at $0.35/month, billing unit not specified.

Snowflake alternatives

Direct competitors. Starting prices match the table above.

Sources

  • Official Snowflake pricing: snowflake.com/pricing (verified Sep 2026)
  • Cite this data: Toolradar, Snowflake pricing verified Sep 2026, toolradar.com/tools/snowflake/pricing
Improve Your Thinking Patterns Using ChatGPT cover
$99Free with your review

Review Snowflake, get a free AI guide

Share your experience and we will send you Improve Your Thinking Patterns Using ChatGPT, free.

Write a review