Socket Pricing 2026
Plans, hidden costs, and alternatives compared
Prices last confirmed on Nov 2, 2026 on socket.dev. Same data as Markdown or JSON.
Cite this data: Toolradar, Socket pricing verified Nov 2026, toolradar.com/tools/socket-dev/pricing
Socket starts at $25/user/month on the Team plan.
Verified Nov 2026 from the official pricing page.
Is Socket worth the price?
Socket uses proactive malware and supply-chain detection that goes beyond traditional CVE scanning, it catches intentionally malicious packages, not just known vulnerabilities.
Free at $0/developer gets 3 members and 1,000 scans/month, which covers small open-source projects. Team at $25/developer/month adds reachability analysis that eliminates 60% of false-positive CVEs, a genuine differentiator.
Pricing Plans
Free TrialFree
Open source
- Public repos
- Basic scanning
- Community support
- npm/PyPI
Team
$25/per user/month
Teams
- Private repos
- CI/CD integration
- Slack alerts
- Priority support
Enterprise
Custom
Large scale
- SSO/SAML
- Custom rules
- SLA
- Dedicated support
Hidden Costs & Gotchas
Free tier limited to 3 members, adding a 4th developer forces an upgrade to Team at $25/dev/month minimum
1,000 scans/month on Free depletes fast in CI/CD, each pull request scan counts, so a busy repo with 20 PRs/week uses 80+ scans/month per repo
Team tier caps at 10 members and 5,000 scans, growing teams hit both limits and must jump to Business (2x the price)
Enterprise pricing is opaque, custom quotes mean unpredictable costs for budget planning
GitLab, Bitbucket, and Azure DevOps support requires Enterprise, GitHub-only on Free, Team, and Business
AI model scanning (for ML supply chain risks) is Business-tier only, not available on cheaper plans
Which Plan Do You Need?
Socket offers free Team accounts to open-source projects, apply directly for full features at zero cost
1,000 scans/month and 70+ risk types detection is enough for small teams with a handful of repositories
Precomputed reachability analysis cuts 60% of CVE false positives, the biggest pain point with traditional SCA tools
How Socket compares
5 of 6 direct competitors offer a free plan.
| Tool | Starting price | Free plan |
|---|---|---|
| Socket | $25/user/month | Yes |
| Dependabot | Free | Yes |
| Snyk | $25/month flat for the whole organisation | Yes |
| Mend | $250/year, billing unit not specified | No |
| Renovate | Free | Yes |
| Trivy | Free | Yes |
| MagAudit | €29/month flat for the whole organisation | Yes |
Socket Pricing FAQ
How much does Socket cost?
Socket starts at $25/user/month on the Team plan. A free plan is also available.
Does Socket have a free plan?
Yes. Socket offers a free plan called "Free". It includes: Public repos, Basic scanning, Community support.
Does Socket offer a free trial?
Yes. Socket offers a free trial.
What are alternatives to Socket?
Alternatives to Socket include Dependabot, Snyk, Mend, Renovate. Dependabot, Renovate, Trivy are fully free. Snyk starts at $25/month flat for the whole organisation; Mend starts at $250/year, billing unit not specified; MagAudit starts at €29/month flat for the whole organisation.
How much does Socket cost for a team of 10?
For 10 users on the Team plan, Socket is $250/month, or $3,000/year, at the published per-user rate.
Socket alternatives
Direct competitors. Starting prices match the table above.
Sources
- Official Socket pricing: socket.dev/pricing (verified Nov 2026)
- Cite this data: Toolradar, Socket pricing verified Nov 2026, toolradar.com/tools/socket-dev/pricing

Review Socket, get a free AI guide
Share your experience and we will send you Improve Your Thinking Patterns Using ChatGPT, free.