Zerotier Pricing 2026
Plans, hidden costs, and alternatives compared
Prices last confirmed on Oct 21, 2026 on zerotier.com. Same data as Markdown or JSON.
Cite this data: Toolradar, Zerotier pricing verified Oct 2026, toolradar.com/tools/zerotier/pricing
Zerotier does not publish a public price list.
Verified Oct 2026 from the official pricing page.
Is Zerotier worth the price?
ZeroTier Free tier (10 devices, 1 network) is genuinely useful for personal VPN and home lab use.
The per-device pricing model means costs scale linearly with fleet size, which becomes expensive at 200+ devices compared to flat-rate alternatives. The new Quantum tier offers post-quantum cryptography for mission-critical infrastructure, a unique differentiator no competitor matches yet.
Pricing
Zerotier offers a generous free tier with optional paid upgrades for advanced features.
Hidden Costs & Gotchas
Free tier was reduced from 25 devices to 10 devices and from unlimited networks to 1 network. Existing free users may have been grandfathered, but new signups get the reduced limits
Network admin seats are limited per tier
1 (Personal), 5 (Essential), 10 (Scale). Additional admin seats require upgrading to a higher tier, you cannot add admins a la carte
Self-hosted controllers are possible (open source) but eliminate central management features, audit logging, and support. Running your own controller saves money but adds operational burden
Audit logs are only available on Essential and above (30-day retention). Scale gets extended retention. Compliance-focused organizations may need Scale tier purely for audit requirements
Bandwidth is not metered, but ZeroTier relies on peer-to-peer connections. If direct connections fail, traffic routes through ZeroTier relays, which may introduce latency and are capacity-limited on free/lower tiers
How Zerotier compares
5 of 5 direct competitors offer a free plan.
| Tool | Starting price | Free plan |
|---|---|---|
| Zerotier | No public price | No |
| Tailscale | $8/user/month | Yes |
| WireGuard | Free | Yes |
| Cloudflare | $25/month, billing unit not specified | Yes |
| OpenVPN | $7/month, billing unit not specified | Yes |
| Twingate | $5/user/month | Yes |
Zerotier Pricing FAQ
How much does Zerotier cost?
Zerotier does not publish a public price list. Contact Zerotier for a quote.
Does Zerotier have a free plan?
Zerotier does not offer a permanent free plan. Paid plans are required from day one.
What are alternatives to Zerotier?
Alternatives to Zerotier include Tailscale, WireGuard, Cloudflare, OpenVPN. WireGuard is fully free. Tailscale starts at $8/user/month; Cloudflare starts at $25/month, billing unit not specified; OpenVPN starts at $7/month, billing unit not specified.
Zerotier alternatives
Direct competitors. Starting prices match the table above.
Sources
- Official Zerotier pricing: zerotier.com/pricing (verified Oct 2026)
- Cite this data: Toolradar, Zerotier pricing verified Oct 2026, toolradar.com/tools/zerotier/pricing

Review Zerotier, get a free AI guide
Share your experience and we will send you Improve Your Thinking Patterns Using ChatGPT, free.