Skip to content
smallstep logo

smallstep Pricing 2026

Plans, hidden costs, and alternatives compared

Reviews on G2
1 plans tracked Updated Sep 2026

Cite this data: Toolradar, smallstep pricing verified Sep 2026, toolradar.com/tools/smallstep/pricing

smallstep uses custom pricing.

Verified Sep 2026 from the official pricing page.

Is smallstep worth the price?

Fair value

Smallstep's Enterprise-only pricing, with custom quotes, positions it as an expensive solution, especially for smaller organizations.

While the features are robust for zero-trust, the lack of transparent pricing or lower tiers makes it inaccessible for many. This model is best suited for large enterprises with complex security needs and significant budgets.

Pricing Plans

Enterprise

Custom

  • Device attestation
  • SSH certificates
  • Certificate-based Wi-Fi
  • VPN and ZTNA
  • Workload identity
  • Enterprise support

How smallstep compares

4 of 5 direct competitors offer a free plan.

Starting price and free plan: smallstep and its direct competitors
Tool Starting price Free plan
smallstep Contact sales No
Auth0 $35/month, billing unit not specified Yes
Ory $29/month, billing unit not specified Yes
Zitadel No public price No
Hanko $29/month, billing unit not specified Yes
Firebase Authentication Contact sales Yes

smallstep Pricing FAQ

How much does smallstep cost?

smallstep uses custom pricing. Contact smallstep directly for a quote based on your team size and requirements.

Does smallstep have a free plan?

Yes, smallstep is available on a free tier, allowing users to get started with its features. Paid plans are offered for those requiring more extensive usage and additional enterprise-level features.

What are alternatives to smallstep?

Alternatives to smallstep include Auth0, Ory, Zitadel, Hanko. Auth0 starts at $35/month, billing unit not specified; Ory starts at $29/month, billing unit not specified; Hanko starts at $29/month, billing unit not specified.

smallstep alternatives

Direct competitors. Starting prices match the table above.

Sources

  • Official smallstep pricing: smallstep.com/pricing (verified Sep 2026)
  • Cite this data: Toolradar, smallstep pricing verified Sep 2026, toolradar.com/tools/smallstep/pricing
Improve Your Thinking Patterns Using ChatGPT cover
$99 Free with your review

Review smallstep, get a free AI guide

Share your experience and we will send you Improve Your Thinking Patterns Using ChatGPT, free.

Write a review