Smartling Pricing 2026
Plans, hidden costs, and alternatives compared
Prices last confirmed on Oct 1, 2026 on smartling.com. Same data as Markdown or JSON.
Cite this data: Toolradar, Smartling pricing verified Oct 2026, toolradar.com/tools/smartling/pricing
Smartling starts at $500/month on the Core plan.
Verified Oct 2026 from the official pricing page.
Is Smartling worth the price?
The Core plan is free to start, which lowers the barrier to evaluation, but serious use requires an Enterprise contract.
Smartling makes sense when you need a single platform for translation memory, workflow automation, and quality assurance at scale, but smaller teams should strongly consider Lokalise or Crowdin first.
Pricing Plans
Free TrialCore
$500/month
- 1 user
- Up to 50,000 words/month
- Translation management
- Visual context
Enterprise
$2,500/month
- 10 users
- Up to 500,000 words/month
- Custom workflows
- API access
Custom
- High-volume translation
- 5M+ words/month
- Enterprise security
- Dedicated support
Hidden Costs & Gotchas
Platform fees are separate from translation costs. The annual subscription covers TMS access, but every word translated incurs additional per-word charges. Budget both components.
The Core plan limits translation memory to 180 days. After that, your TM data is purged, forcing you to re-translate previously completed work unless you upgrade to Enterprise with unlimited TM storage.
Smartling uses seat-based pricing on some tiers. Adding project managers, reviewers, or translators can increase your platform fee beyond the initial quote.
Volume commitments are common in contracts. If you commit to 1M words/year and only translate 600K, you still pay for the committed volume. Over-estimating locks you into higher spending.
Which Plan Do You Need?
Basic workflow management, CAT Tool with visual context, and 180-day translation memory, enough to manage a small translation pipeline before committing to a paid contract
How Smartling compares
1 of 5 direct competitors offers a free plan.
| Tool | Starting price | Free plan |
|---|---|---|
| Smartling | $500/month, billing unit not specified | No |
| Phrase | $27/month flat for the whole organisation | No |
| Crowdin | $50/month, billing unit not specified | Yes |
| Lokalise | $149/month flat for the whole organisation | No |
| Transifex | $160/month, billing unit not specified | No |
| Memsource | $525/month, billing unit not specified | No |
Smartling Pricing FAQ
How much does Smartling cost?
Smartling starts at $500/month on the Core plan. It offers 2 paid tiers ranging from $500/month to $2,500/month.
Does Smartling have a free plan?
Smartling does not offer a permanent free plan. A free trial is available.
Does Smartling offer a free trial?
Yes. Smartling offers a free trial.
What is the cheapest Smartling paid plan?
The cheapest paid plan for Smartling is "Core" at $500/month. Key features include: 1 user, Up to 50,000 words/month, Translation management.
What are alternatives to Smartling?
Alternatives to Smartling include Phrase, Crowdin, Lokalise, Transifex. Phrase starts at $27/month flat for the whole organisation; Crowdin starts at $50/month, billing unit not specified; Lokalise starts at $149/month flat for the whole organisation.
Smartling alternatives
Direct competitors. Starting prices match the table above.
Sources
- Official Smartling pricing: smartling.com/plans (verified Oct 2026)
- Cite this data: Toolradar, Smartling pricing verified Oct 2026, toolradar.com/tools/smartling/pricing

Review Smartling, get a free AI guide
Share your experience and we will send you Improve Your Thinking Patterns Using ChatGPT, free.