Contentful Pricing 2026
Plans, hidden costs, and alternatives compared
Prices last confirmed on Oct 2, 2026 on contentful.com. Same data as Markdown or JSON.
Cite this data: Toolradar, Contentful pricing verified Oct 2026, toolradar.com/tools/contentful/pricing
Contentful starts at €300/month on the Lite plan.
Verified Oct 2026 from the official pricing page.
Is Contentful worth the price?
Contentful is the market-leading headless CMS, and its pricing reflects that position.
The Free tier is genuinely useful for learning and prototyping, 10,000 records, 100K API calls, and 10 users is enough to build a real proof of concept. There is no mid-tier option between free and €300/month, which forces growing startups into an awkward decision.
The real hidden expense is not the platform fee but the developer time: Contentful is API-first with no built-in frontend, so you are paying for a CMS plus a full frontend build. For content teams used to WordPress, the total cost of ownership is 3-5x higher when you factor in development.
Pricing Plans
Free
For learning and small projects
- 1 Starter Space
- 10 users
- 2 roles (Admin, Editor)
- 2 locales
- 25 content types
- 2 environments
- 10,000 records
- 100K API calls/month
- 50 GB CDN bandwidth/month
- 50 MB max asset upload size
- Community support
Lite
€300/month
For small teams building content-driven sites
- 1 Starter Space + option to purchase 1 Lite Space
- 20 users
- 3 roles
- 3 locales
- 1M API calls/month
- 100 GB CDN bandwidth/month
- 50 MB max asset upload size
- Comments and task management
- Scheduled publishing
- Live collaboration
Premium
Custom
For enterprises needing governance, compliance, and scale
- Unlimited Spaces (Standard, Enterprise, Templated types)
- Custom number of users
- Custom roles
- Custom locales
- Unlimited API calls/month
- Custom CDN bandwidth
- Up to 99.99% uptime SLA
- 24/7 customer support
- Dedicated Customer Success Manager
- Professional Services access
- Enhanced governance and compliance
- AI Actions (pay-as-you-go)
- Studio visual editor
Hidden Costs & Gotchas
The Free-to-Lite jump is €0 to €300/month with no intermediate tier. Many startups outgrow Free (25 content types, 2 locales, 2 environments) within months but struggle to justify €3,600/year for a CMS alone.
No built-in frontend
Contentful delivers content via API only.
Environments are limited
Free gets 2, Lite gets a few more, and Premium is custom. Each environment is a full copy of your content model, staging/preview workflows require paid environments.
Locales are aggressively gated
Free gets 2, Lite gets 3. International sites needing 10+ languages must go Premium. There is no way to purchase additional locales on Free or Lite.
Content types cap at 25 on Free. Complex content models (blog + landing pages + product pages + FAQs + team bios) can hit this limit quickly.
Bandwidth overages
Free caps at 50 GB/month CDN bandwidth with no overages (hard limit). A viral blog post or media-heavy site can hit this surprisingly fast.
How Contentful compares
4 of 6 direct competitors offer a free plan.
| Tool | Starting price | Free plan |
|---|---|---|
| Contentful | €300/month, billing unit not specified | Yes |
| Sanity | $15/seat/month | Yes |
| Strapi | $35/month flat for the whole organisation | No |
| Storyblok | $99/month, billing unit not specified | Yes |
| Prismic | $10/month, billing unit not specified | Yes |
| Kontent.ai | No public price | No |
| DatoCMS | $99/month, billing unit not specified | Yes |
Contentful Pricing FAQ
How much does Contentful cost?
Contentful starts at €300/month on the Lite plan. A free plan is also available.
Does Contentful have a free plan?
Yes. Contentful offers a free plan called "Free". It includes: 1 Starter Space, 10 users, 2 roles (Admin, Editor).
What are alternatives to Contentful?
Alternatives to Contentful include Sanity, Strapi, Storyblok, Prismic. Sanity starts at $15/seat/month; Strapi starts at $35/month flat for the whole organisation; Storyblok starts at $99/month, billing unit not specified.
Contentful alternatives
Direct competitors. Starting prices match the table above.
Sources
- Official Contentful pricing: contentful.com/pricing (verified Oct 2026)
- Cite this data: Toolradar, Contentful pricing verified Oct 2026, toolradar.com/tools/contentful/pricing

Review Contentful, get a free AI guide
Share your experience and we will send you Improve Your Thinking Patterns Using ChatGPT, free.