Skip to content
Dropbox logo

Dropbox Pricing 2026

Plans, hidden costs, and alternatives compared

Reviews on G2 Capterra
6 plans tracked Updated Oct 2026

Cite this data: Toolradar, Dropbox pricing verified Oct 2026, toolradar.com/tools/dropbox/pricing

Dropbox starts at $13.25/month on the Plus plan.

Verified Oct 2026 from the official pricing page.

Is Dropbox worth the price?

Fair value

The real value gap is in the free tier: 2 GB is unusably small in 2026, clearly designed to force upgrades.

Storage overage is not metered, you simply cannot upload past your limit. The ecosystem lock-in (Desktop app, Paper, Sign integration) makes switching progressively harder, which is the actual hidden cost.

Pricing Plans

30-day Free Trial

Basic

Free

  • 2 GB storage
  • Sync across 3 devices
  • File sharing
  • Mobile app access

Plus

$13.25/monthly

  • 1 TB (1,024 GB) storage
  • Unlimited devices
  • 30-day file recovery
  • Password-protected sharing
  • Smart Sync
  • Offline access

Essentials

$19.99/monthly

  • 3 TB (3,000 GB) storage
  • 180-day file recovery
  • Send large files up to 100 GB
  • PDF editing
  • Watermarking
  • Branding controls

Business

$18/monthly

  • 5 TB storage for the team
  • Admin console
  • Granular sharing permissions
  • Dropbox Paper
  • Team folders
  • File locking

Business Plus

$25/monthly

  • Unlimited storage
  • SSO integration
  • Advanced audit logging
  • Device management
  • Legal holds
  • Compliance tracking

Enterprise

Custom

  • Unlimited storage
  • 24/7 phone support
  • Domain insights
  • Advanced security features
  • Dedicated account manager
  • Custom integrations

Hidden Costs & Gotchas

Business plans require a 3-user minimum.

Dropbox Sign (e-signatures) is a separate add-on unless bundled. Standalone Dropbox Sign Essentials costs $20/user/month. The Professional plan includes limited signature requests, but heavy eSign users need the add-on

Advanced/Business Plus storage scales with active licenses, 15 TB pooled sounds generous but is shared across the team. A 10-person team on Advanced has 15 TB total (1.5 TB effective per user), and adding storage requires upgrading to Enterprise

Third-party app integrations (Slack, Zoom, etc.) are included, but API access for custom integrations is limited on lower tiers. Business API rate limits can block automated workflows

No family sharing on Plus, each family member needs their own plan.

Data residency is Enterprise-only. Teams subject to GDPR or data sovereignty requirements must negotiate custom contracts

How Dropbox compares

6 of 6 direct competitors offer a free plan.

Starting price and free plan: Dropbox and its direct competitors
Tool Starting price Free plan
Dropbox $13.25/month, billing unit not specified Yes
Google Drive $1.99/month, billing unit not specified Yes
Box $5/user/month Yes
Sync.com Contact sales Yes
pCloud $4.99/month, billing unit not specified Yes
MEGA €4.99/month, billing unit not specified Yes
OneDrive $1.99/month, billing unit not specified Yes

Dropbox Pricing FAQ

How much does Dropbox cost?

Dropbox starts at $13.25/month on the Plus plan. It offers 4 paid tiers ranging from $13.25/month to $25/month. A free plan is also available.

Does Dropbox have a free plan?

Yes. Dropbox offers a free plan called "Basic". It includes: 2 GB storage, Sync across 3 devices, File sharing.

Does Dropbox offer a free trial?

Yes. Dropbox offers a free trial lasting 30 days.

What is the cheapest Dropbox paid plan?

The cheapest paid plan for Dropbox is "Plus" at $13.25/month. Key features include: 1 TB (1,024 GB) storage, Unlimited devices, 30-day file recovery.

What are alternatives to Dropbox?

Alternatives to Dropbox include Google Drive, Box, Sync.com, pCloud. Google Drive starts at $1.99/month, billing unit not specified; Box starts at $5/user/month; pCloud starts at $4.99/month, billing unit not specified.

Dropbox alternatives

Direct competitors. Starting prices match the table above.

Sources

  • Official Dropbox pricing: www.dropbox.com/plans (verified Oct 2026)
  • Cite this data: Toolradar, Dropbox pricing verified Oct 2026, toolradar.com/tools/dropbox/pricing
Improve Your Thinking Patterns Using ChatGPT cover
$99 Free with your review

Review Dropbox, get a free AI guide

Share your experience and we will send you Improve Your Thinking Patterns Using ChatGPT, free.

Write a review