Skip to content
Paychex logo

Paychex Pricing 2026

Plans, hidden costs, and alternatives compared

Reviews onG2Capterra
3 plans tracked·Updated Sep 2026

Cite this data: Toolradar, Paychex pricing verified Sep 2026, toolradar.com/tools/paychex/pricing

Paychex starts at $39/employee/month on the Flex Essentials plan.

Verified Sep 2026 from the official pricing page.

Is Paychex worth the price?

Fair value

Paychex is a legacy payroll giant that works best for mid-sized to large companies willing to trade pricing transparency for a deep feature set.

Small businesses pay $39/month + $5/employee on the Essentials plan, roughly matching Gusto and ADP Run. However, Paychex does not publish its pricing publicly, so you must request a quote and negotiate.

The real cost risk lies in add-ons: 401(k) termination fees can hit $3,000, multi-state filing triggers undisclosed surcharges, and early cancellation penalties average $1,500-$2,000. If you need basic payroll for under 20 people, Gusto is more transparent and easier to use.

If you need enterprise HR with PEO services, Paychex competes well against ADP TotalSource.

Pricing Plans

Flex Essentials

$39/month

Plus $5/employee

  • Basic payroll
  • Tax filing
  • Regulatory compliance
  • HR library

Flex Select

Custom

  • Everything in Essentials
  • Additional HR tools
  • Custom quote required

Flex Pro

Custom

  • Everything in Select
  • Garnishment payments
  • QuickBooks, Xero integration
  • Employee screening
  • Unemployment insurance

Hidden Costs & Gotchas

401(k) plan termination costs up to $3,000 including a $1,500 termination fee, $1,400 retroactive setup fee, $75/account closure fees, and $75/transaction for distributions.

Which Plan Do You Need?

Small businesses (1-19 employees) needing basic payroll→ Flex Essentials

At $39/month + $5/employee, a 10-person company pays ~$89/month, competitive with Gusto and ADP Run for straightforward payroll and tax filing.

Mid-sized companies (20-49 employees) outgrowing basic payroll→ Flex Select / Pro

The $47/month base + $3/employee structure gets cheaper per-head as you scale. A 40-person team pays ~$167/month and gains HR compliance tools, onboarding, and time tracking.

Enterprises (50+ employees) needing a full HR/payroll suite→ Flex Enterprise

At $95/month base + $3/employee, a 100-person company pays ~$395/month with dedicated support, benefits administration, and multi-state payroll. Custom pricing available for complex setups.

Our Recommendation

startup

Skip Paychex unless you are over 20 employees. Gusto offers transparent pricing, better UX, and no cancellation penalties, critical for a startup that may pivot or downsize.

enterprise

Paychex Flex Enterprise and PEO services are strong for 50-500 employees. Request quotes from ADP TotalSource and Rippling simultaneously, Paychex will match or beat if pressed. Always negotiate the 401(k) termination clause out of your contract.

freelancer

Paychex Solo at $39/month handles self-employed payroll, but Wave or Gusto Contractor-only ($6/person) are cheaper if you just need to pay yourself.

small Business

Paychex becomes competitive at 20-49 employees where the $47 + $3/employee structure undercuts Gusto per-head. Get quotes from both Paychex and ADP Run, and negotiate, Paychex reps have significant pricing flexibility.

How Paychex compares

Starting price from each tool's published plans.

ToolStarting priceFree plan
Paychex$39/employee/monthNo
Gusto$49/month, billing unit not specifiedNo
Rippling$8/user/monthNo
BambooHR$5.25/month, billing unit not specifiedNo
QuickBooks$38/month, billing unit not specifiedNo
ADP$59/employee/monthNo
WorkdayContact salesNo

Paychex Pricing FAQ

How much does Paychex cost?

Paychex starts at $39/employee/month on the Flex Essentials plan.

Does Paychex have a free plan?

Paychex does not offer a permanent free plan. Paid plans are required from day one.

What are alternatives to Paychex?

Alternatives to Paychex include Gusto, Rippling, BambooHR, QuickBooks. Gusto starts at $49/month, billing unit not specified; Rippling starts at $8/user/month; BambooHR starts at $5.25/month, billing unit not specified.

How much does Paychex cost for a team of 10?

For 10 users on the Flex Essentials plan, Paychex is $390/month, or $4,680/year, at the published per-user rate.

Paychex alternatives

Direct competitors. Starting prices match the table above.

Sources

  • Official Paychex pricing: paychex.com (verified Sep 2026)
  • Cite this data: Toolradar, Paychex pricing verified Sep 2026, toolradar.com/tools/paychex/pricing
Improve Your Thinking Patterns Using ChatGPT cover
$99Free with your review

Review Paychex, get a free AI guide

Share your experience and we will send you Improve Your Thinking Patterns Using ChatGPT, free.

Write a review