Shopify Pricing 2026
Plans, hidden costs, and alternatives compared
Prices last confirmed on Nov 1, 2026 on shopify.com. Same data as Markdown or JSON.
Cite this data: Toolradar, Shopify pricing verified Nov 2026, toolradar.com/tools/shopify/pricing
Shopify starts at $39/month flat for the whole organisation on the Basic plan.
Verified Nov 2026 from the official pricing page.
Is Shopify worth the price?
Shopify's $39/mo Basic plan looks affordable until you add payment processing fees, apps, and themes.
The biggest cost driver is transaction fees: using any payment provider other than Shopify Payments triggers a 2% surcharge ON TOP of the processor's fees, effectively forcing you into Shopify Payments. That said, Shopify's ecosystem is unmatched, the app store, theme marketplace, and built-in shipping/fulfillment make it the fastest path from idea to selling online.
Pricing Plans
Free TrialBasic
$39 / mo
- 3-day free trial
- 10 inventory locations
- 24/7 chat support
- In-person selling
Grow
$89 / mo
- 10 locations
- 5 staff accounts
- POS capability
- Lower transaction fees
Advanced
$359 / mo
- Enhanced support
- Local storefronts
- 15 staff accounts
- 0.6% third-party rates
Plus
From $2,300/mo
- 200 inventory locations
- Priority phone support
- Unlimited staff
- Customizable checkout
Agentic
$0 / mo
- For selling in AI channels
- Add products to Shopify's Catalog
- Only pay when you make a sale
Hidden Costs & Gotchas
Third-party payment surcharge
using PayPal, Stripe, or any non-Shopify payment processor triggers a 2% (Basic), 1% (Grow), or 0.6% (Advanced) surcharge ON TOP of the processor's own fees.
Apps are the real budget killer
most stores run 5-10 paid apps for reviews, email marketing, upsells, SEO, etc.
Currency conversion markup
Shopify Payments charges a 1.5% FX markup on international transactions on top of the card processing fee.
Shopify Email is free for the first 10,000 emails/month, then $1 per 1,000.
Overage & Usage Pricing
shipping
Shopify Shipping discounts: up to 88% off USPS/UPS/DHL. Calculated rates on Advanced+
pos Hardware
Card readers from $49, POS Pro features are additional subscription
shopify Email
Free for 10K emails/mo, then $1 per 1,000 additional
currency Conversion
1.5% FX markup on Shopify Payments international transactions
third Party Surcharge
Basic: 2%, Grow: 1%, Advanced: 0.6%, Plus: 0%
shopify Payments Online
Basic: 2.9% + 30¢, Grow: 2.7% + 30¢, Advanced: 2.4% + 30¢
shopify Payments In Person
Basic: 2.6% + 10¢, Grow: 2.5% + 10¢, Advanced: 2.4% + 10¢
How Shopify compares
3 of 6 direct competitors offer a free plan.
| Tool | Starting price | Free plan |
|---|---|---|
| Shopify | $39/month flat for the whole organisation | Yes |
| Squarespace | €12/month, billing unit not specified | No |
| Wix | Free | Yes |
| BigCommerce | $39/month, billing unit not specified | No |
| WooCommerce | Free | Yes |
| Magento | $22,000/year, billing unit not specified | Yes |
| Volusion | $35/month, billing unit not specified | No |
Shopify Pricing FAQ
How much does Shopify cost?
Shopify starts at $39/month flat for the whole organisation on the Basic plan. It offers 4 paid tiers ranging from $39/month flat for the whole organisation to $2,300/month flat for the whole organisation. A free plan is also available.
Does Shopify have a free plan?
Yes. Shopify offers a free plan called "Agentic". It includes: For selling in AI channels, Add products to Shopify's Catalog, Only pay when you make a sale.
Does Shopify offer a free trial?
Yes. Shopify offers a free trial.
What is the cheapest Shopify paid plan?
The cheapest paid plan for Shopify is "Basic" at $39/month flat for the whole organisation. Key features include: 3-day free trial, 10 inventory locations, 24/7 chat support.
What are alternatives to Shopify?
Alternatives to Shopify include Squarespace, Wix, BigCommerce, WooCommerce. WooCommerce is fully free. Squarespace starts at €12/month, billing unit not specified; Wix starts at Free; BigCommerce starts at $39/month, billing unit not specified.
Shopify alternatives
Direct competitors. Starting prices match the table above.
Sources
- Official Shopify pricing: www.shopify.com/pricing (verified Nov 2026)
- Cite this data: Toolradar, Shopify pricing verified Nov 2026, toolradar.com/tools/shopify/pricing

Review Shopify, get a free AI guide
Share your experience and we will send you Improve Your Thinking Patterns Using ChatGPT, free.