Canopy Pricing 2026
Plans, hidden costs, and alternatives compared
Cite this data: Toolradar, Canopy pricing verified Oct 2026, toolradar.com/tools/canopy/pricing
Canopy starts at $22/user/month on the Time & Billing plan.
Verified Oct 2026 from the official pricing page.
Is Canopy worth the price?
Canopy's pricing structure is somewhat complex, mixing per-user modules with platform-based pricing.
The 'Client Engagement Platform' at $150/month offers good value for its comprehensive features, while the 'STARTER' and 'ESSENTIALS' tiers seem a bit high for their feature sets at $45 and $66 monthly respectively. This pricing is best for established accounting and tax firms looking for a modular, scalable solution.
Pricing Plans
STARTER
$540 total annually
- Manage Client Intake
- Send Proposals
- Track work from proposal to re-engagement
- Integrate Email
- Collaborate with teammates
- Interact via a secure, branded Client Portal
- Collect eSignatures
- Tag & segment client list
- Store internal work papers & client files
- Control access & permissions
- Send secure links for clients that want to avoid logging into the portal
- Exchange documents with clients over mobile app
ESSENTIALS
$792 total annually
- Manage Client Intake
- Send Proposals
- Track projects from proposal to re-engagement
- Integrate Email
- Collaborate with teammates on emails, tasks, & files
- Centralize all client interactions to the highest rated mobile app
- Collect eSignatures
- Tag & segment client list
- Store internal work papers & client files
- Control access & permissions
- Collect payments & maintain revenue integrity
- Monitor firm data with pre-built dashboards
- Send secure links for clients that want to avoid logging into the portal
- Track time & manage invoices
Client Engagement Platform
$150 / mo
- Client Portal
- Mobile App for Clients & Firm
- Connected Email
- Notify team w/ @mentions
- CRM
- Engagements & Proposals w/ eSignature
- Client Requests
- Questionnaires & Organizers
- Custom Roles
- Custom Reports & Formulas
- 2,500 clients
Document Management
$36 / user/per month
- Secure File Exchange
- Unlimited Document Storage
- Unlimited eSignatures
- Retention Policies
- Customizable Folder Permissions
- Native File Annotations
- Firm Workpaper Storage
- Desktop Sync & Print Driver
Workflow
$32 / user/per month
- Projects & Tasks
- Automation
- Workflow Templates
- Recurrences
- Custom Statuses
- Roles for Task Assignment
- Custom Reports & Formulas
- Staff Utilization Report
- Capacity Planning Report
Time & Billing
$22 / user/per month
- Generate & Send Invoices
- Time Tracking
- WIP
- Collect Card & ACH Payments
- Surcharging
- Pre-Built Reports
- Profitability Report
- Custom Reports & Formulas
How Canopy compares
Starting price from each tool's published plans.
| Tool | Starting price | Free plan |
|---|---|---|
| Canopy | $22/user/month | No |
| TaxDome | No public price | No |
| Clio | $39/user/month | No |
| Karbon | $59/user/month | No |
| SmartVault | $12.50/month, billing unit not specified | No |
| Xero | $25/month, billing unit not specified | No |
| QuickBooks | $38/month, billing unit not specified | No |
Canopy Pricing FAQ
How much does Canopy cost?
Canopy starts at $22/user/month on the Time & Billing plan. It offers 6 paid tiers ranging from $22/user/month to $150/month.
Does Canopy have a free plan?
Canopy does not offer a permanent free plan. Paid plans are required from day one.
What is the cheapest Canopy paid plan?
The cheapest paid plan for Canopy is "Time & Billing" at $22/user/month. Key features include: Generate & Send Invoices, Time Tracking, WIP.
What are alternatives to Canopy?
Alternatives to Canopy include TaxDome, Clio, Karbon, SmartVault. Clio starts at $39/user/month; Karbon starts at $59/user/month; SmartVault starts at $12.50/month, billing unit not specified.
How much does Canopy cost for a team of 10?
For 10 users on the Time & Billing plan, Canopy is $220/month, or $2,640/year, at the published per-user rate.
Canopy alternatives
Direct competitors. Starting prices match the table above.
Sources
- Official Canopy pricing: www.getcanopy.com/pricing (verified Oct 2026)
- Cite this data: Toolradar, Canopy pricing verified Oct 2026, toolradar.com/tools/canopy/pricing

Review Canopy, get a free AI guide
Share your experience and we will send you Improve Your Thinking Patterns Using ChatGPT, free.