Skip to content

Best ISO 42001 Compliance Tools in 2026

TL;DR

Short answer: Vanta if you want the widest ISO 42001 automation, from adaptive scoping to a partnered accredited-auditor network, though it publishes no list price. Sprinto pre-maps the standard's 10 clauses and 38 Annex A controls so a first-time buyer starts around 70% done, also quote-only. Scrut Automation is ISO 42001 certified on its own platform, and Credo AI is the AI-governance specialist whose policy pack meets 45% of the standard out of the box. Procurement teams that want a dollar figure before a demo should look at IBM watsonx.governance, priced from $3,500/mo, or Secureframe, whose entry tier starts at $7,000/year; every other platform here is quote-only.

Ten platforms that turn the AI management system standard's clauses and controls into an audit file, not a policy binder.

As featured in
  • TechCrunch
  • Forbes
  • Bloomberg
  • Business Insider
  • The Verge
165 Compliance Management tools tracked

ISO/IEC 42001 is the first international standard built specifically for managing an AI system, not a generic risk framework retrofitted to cover machine learning. Passing its audit means proving you run an AI management system, a documented scope, risk assessments, an Annex A control set, and evidence a certification body can inspect. Sprinto counts 10 clauses and 38 Annex A controls in the standard, and it pre-maps every one of them to a policy and an owner before you start.

Toolradar data: the catalog tracks 165 compliance management tools, and 133 of them, 81%, sell on a paid-only basis with no free tier; 15% give buyers a free or freemium way in.

That paid-only skew matches the ten platforms below: eight publish no list price at all, and two, Secureframe and IBM watsonx.governance, publish a starting price for their entry tier and still need a sales call past it. A page built for a generic security stack, not the certification itself, belongs in compliance management instead. A shortlist built around the EU's regulation rather than the ISO standard is EU AI Act compliance tools, and one built for adversarial AI risk testing is AI TRiSM tools. A broader RegTech shortlist, not specific to the AI management system standard, is AI compliance tools.

Start with Vanta or Sprinto when ISO 42001 is the certification you are chasing this quarter, since both pre-map the standard's controls and both are quote-only. Move to Scrut Automation or Anecdotes when you want a vendor that has already carried its own AI management system through an accredited audit. Credo AI fits a team whose real job is AI governance, not general security compliance, and IBM watsonx.governance fits a buyer who wants a dollar figure before the first call.

How we ranked: these ten were chosen from the 165 compliance management tools in the catalog because each one names ISO/IEC 42001 on its own site, not only AI governance in general, and every price and feature claim here was pulled straight from a vendor's own pages this month. No paid placement.

Top Picks

Picked by editorial review, informed by G2 and Capterra review volume and rating and by media mentions, the signals behind our category rankings. How we rate

Best ISO 42001 Compliance Tools compared: starting price, rating and best use, as of September 2026
ToolStarting priceRatingBest for
VantaNo list price4.72,722 reviewsTeams that want the widest automation and an accredited auditor lined up
SprintoNo list price4.71,684 reviewsFirst-time buyers who want the standard pre-mapped instead of a blank register
DrataNo list price4.71,401 reviewsTeams already running Drata for SOC 2 or ISO 27001 who want AI added in
SecureframeFrom $7,000/year (Fundamentals)4.7881 reviewsStartups that want a written AI policy and evidence pulled automatically
Scrut AutomationNo list price4.91,451 reviewsBuyers who want proof the vendor has passed the same audit it is selling
Credo AINo list pricen/aTeams whose primary job is AI governance, not general security compliance
AnecdotesNo list pricen/aEnterprises that want proof a vendor ran its own program through the same audit
OneTrustNo list pricen/aEnterprises adding ISO 42001 to a OneTrust privacy or third-party-risk program
ThoropassNo list price4.7585 reviewsTeams that want the platform and the accredited audit from one relationship
IBM watsonx.governanceFrom $3,500/mon/aProcurement teams that need a budget number before a technical evaluation
1
Vanta logo

Vanta

Top Pick
  • 4.7 on G2 (2,722 reviews)

Teams that want the widest automation and an accredited auditor lined up

+The dedicated ISO 42001 product runs automated control tests across 400+ integrations, with pre-built templates mapped to the standard's requirements.
+Vanta's own AI Agent summarizes policies, flags evidence gaps, and speeds up remediation; an accredited auditor quoted on Vanta's own site credits this with cutting audit completion time by about 50%.
+Vanta partners with ISO 42001-accredited auditors and holds its own ISO 42001 certification, positioning itself as the fastest route to the credential.
−Vanta publishes no list price anywhere on its site; the four named tiers, Essentials, Plus, Professional, and Enterprise, carry no dollar figures until a sales call.
−The product page names the frameworks it maps against but does not walk through a worked ISO 42001 certification example, so ask for one in the demo.
Good value

While it offers comprehensive features, these price points might be expensive for smaller startups, but fair for established companies prioritizing robust compliance automation.

Watch out

Potential for overage fees on usage

2
Sprinto logo

Sprinto

  • 4.7 on G2 (1,684 reviews)

First-time buyers who want the standard pre-mapped instead of a blank register

+All 10 clauses and 38 Annex A controls come pre-mapped to policies, evidence requirements, and an owner, so Sprinto says buyers start around 70% done, not at zero.
+The platform detects AI tool usage across browser extensions, managed devices, integrations, and SSO sign-ins, then routes each one to an owner for a risk review.
+Evidence collection runs across 300+ integrations spanning cloud, ML platforms, ticketing, and HRIS, and Sprinto states more than 1,500 companies have used it to reach ISO 42001 certification.
−Sprinto's own pricing page carries no dollar figures on either of its two published plans; every path ends at a 'find my plan' form.
−A separate AI Governance zone sits under Sprinto's own 'coming soon' list on that same pricing page, even though basic AI system inventory and risk review features already ship in the base plans.
Fair value

However, the lack of transparent pricing suggests it caters to businesses with larger compliance budgets, as custom quotes often imply higher costs.

3
Drata logo

Drata

  • 4.7 on G2 (1,394 reviews)
  • 4.8 on Capterra (6 reviews)
  • 4.0 on Trustpilot (1 reviews)

Teams already running Drata for SOC 2 or ISO 27001 who want AI added in

+Drata AI summarizes the context behind a failed control test and links AI-specific risks directly to the control, the owner, and the supporting evidence.
+Six named capabilities, define AI controls, centralize AI evidence, link risks to controls, align AI policies, monitor AI controls, and automate workflows, cover mapping through monitoring.
+The framework page positions ISO 42001 as something you operationalize inside the AI controls you already track, not a standalone program built from scratch.
−Drata's pricing and ISO 42001 pages both carry no dollar figures; the only path to a number is a sales conversation.
−The page does not state a control count for ISO 42001 the way Sprinto does, so you cannot compare mapping depth without asking directly.
Good value

Drata's pricing model, based on custom quotes and company size, suggests it's likely on the higher end of the market, especially given the comprehensive features offered.

Watch out

Potential seat minimums for enterprise

4
Secureframe logo

Secureframe

  • 4.7 on G2 (823 reviews)
  • 4.8 on Capterra (58 reviews)

Startups that want a written AI policy and evidence pulled automatically

+The policy library ships dozens of policies including one written specifically for AI, developed and vetted by Secureframe's in-house compliance team.
+Automatic control testing pulls continuous configuration data from 200+ integrations, so evidence for ISO 42001 controls updates without a manual export.
+Comply AI for Risks automates the platform's risk assessments, and real-time alerts flag misconfigurations with remediation guidance attached.
−Secureframe names three tiers, Fundamentals, Complete, and Defense; only Fundamentals publishes a starting price, and Complete and Defense are quote-only. Defense is built for CMMC, so ISO 42001 buyers are really choosing between Fundamentals and Complete.
−The dedicated ISO 42001 page describes policies and testing but does not name a control count or a coverage percentage, unlike Sprinto or Credo AI.
Fair value

This platform is best suited for established businesses with significant compliance needs and budget.

5
Scrut Automation logo

Scrut Automation

  • 4.9 on G2 (1,312 reviews)
  • 4.9 on Capterra (139 reviews)

Buyers who want proof the vendor has passed the same audit it is selling

Scrut Automation screenshot
+Scrut states plainly that it is ISO 42001 certified for its own AI management, and that it never uses customer data to train shared models.
+AI Teammates, nine named agent roles including an Internal Auditor and a Compliance Concierge, draft policies, collect evidence, and prep audit packages inside the platform or an MCP client.
+The platform reports 70+ supported frameworks, 2,500+ customers, and a 4.9-out-of-5 rating across more than 1,300 reviews, a scale most ISO 42001-specific vendors here do not match.
−Scrut has no public pricing page; the site routes every visitor to a demo request instead.
−The homepage leads with SOC 2, ISO 27001, HIPAA, GDPR, and PCI DSS ahead of ISO 42001, so confirm the ISO 42001 module is fully built out and not only a certification the vendor holds internally.

Teams whose primary job is AI governance, not general security compliance

Credo AI screenshot
+By its own account, the ISO/IEC 42001 Policy Pack gets an organization to 45% of the standard's requirements out of the box, a specific number few competitors here state.
+The AI Registry and Intake feature centralizes the use-case inventory the standard's scoping clause requires, alongside audit-ready reporting built to demonstrate adherence.
+Risk management draws on a library of AI-specific risk scenarios and controls, built for the standard's risk assessment and treatment requirements rather than adapted from a general security framework.
−Credo AI has no public pricing page; every pricing link on the site leads to a missing page or a 'schedule a call' form.
−The platform is built AI-governance-first, so a team that also needs SOC 2 or ISO 27001 in the same tool will likely need a second platform alongside it.
7
Anecdotes logo

Anecdotes

  • 5.0 on G2 (3 reviews)

Enterprises that want proof a vendor ran its own program through the same audit

Anecdotes screenshot
+Anecdotes says it recertified ISO 27001 and earned ISO 27701 and ISO 42001 in under six months, running the program on its own enterprise GRC platform rather than a third-party consultancy.
+Continuous evidence collection draws from 230+ system plugins, with automated internal audits integrated into Slack and Jira.
+Requirement-level control mapping lets the same piece of evidence satisfy multiple frameworks at once, cutting duplicate collection work across NIST, ISO 27001, and HIPAA alongside ISO 42001.
−Pricing is enterprise-only and unpublished; the pricing page's single call to action is 'Request Pricing,' with no tiers or ranges shown.
−The platform markets itself as a single unified offering with no feature gates, a strength for a large buyer and a mismatch for a small team that wanted a cheaper entry tier.
Good value

Anecdotes.ai employs an enterprise-focused 'Request Pricing' model, which typically indicates a higher price point customized to individual organizational needs.

Watch out

Potential high minimum contract values

Enterprises adding ISO 42001 to a OneTrust privacy or third-party-risk program

+The AI Governance product applies EU AI Act, NIST AI Risk Management Framework, and ISO 42001 templates in the same module, by OneTrust's own description.
+Pricing is metered on admin users and the size of the AI inventory managed, a usage-based model rather than a flat annual number that surprises you at renewal.
+Buyers already running OneTrust for privacy or third-party risk can add the AI Governance module without standing up a second vendor relationship.
−OneTrust publishes no list price for AI Governance or for the base platform; the pricing page describes the meter, not a figure.
−ISO 42001 is one template inside a much larger suite, so a buyer whose only need is ISO 42001 certification is paying for privacy and risk modules it may not use.
Fair value

OneTrust's pricing structure is opaque, with only a free tier publicly listed.

9
Thoropass logo

Thoropass

  • 4.7 on G2 (585 reviews)

Teams that want the platform and the accredited audit from one relationship

+Pre-built templates cover the AI System Impact Assessment the standard's scoping and risk clauses call for, alongside automated evidence collection across your existing integrations.
+A customizable Risk Register tracks risk in real time rather than as a static spreadsheet updated once before the audit.
+Thoropass Audit sits next to the platform as a named service, so one vendor relationship can cover both the software and the accredited audit itself.
−Pricing depends on the frameworks pursued, audit scope, company size, and required services, and Thoropass states plainly that every buyer gets a tailored quote, not a published range.
−The dedicated ISO 42001 page describes the platform features but does not state whether the Thoropass Audit service is included in a single price or billed separately.

Procurement teams that need a budget number before a technical evaluation

+Risk & Compliance Basic and Advanced both carry published monthly prices on IBM's own pricing page, with Advanced running to $6,450/mo, alongside a 14-day trial on a shared environment.
+A separate Model Management tier bills per resource unit starting at $0.64 pay-as-you-go, and an AWS Marketplace package starts at $42,000 for one basic instance, five AI use cases, 12,000 evaluations, and 25 concurrent users.
+IBM's own product page names ISO 42001 among the frameworks built into its AI regulatory and risk content library, alongside the EU AI Act and NIST AI.
−The published Basic tier covers exactly one basic instance, one module, and one concurrent user; IBM does not publish what a multi-person compliance team costs past that floor.
−Software pricing beyond the listed tiers runs on virtual processor cores, a metric IBM prices only through a sales conversation, so the published numbers are a floor, not a team budget.
Good value

The pricing is fair for enterprise AI governance, with the $3,500/month Basic tier being competitive for compliance-focused teams, while the $6,450/month Advanced tier is expensive but justified for large-scale deployments.

Watch out

Advanced tier add-on up to 200 users

Other Compliance Management tools worth considering

More published tools from our Compliance Management category, ordered by our category ranking. They are not part of the editorial picks above.

What an ISO 42001 compliance tool is

An ISO 42001 compliance tool is software that scopes an AI management system, maps your controls to the standard's clauses and Annex A requirements, collects the evidence an accredited certification body will ask for, and tracks the audit through to the certificate. That is different from a tool built for a law like the EU AI Act, which asks for a risk tier and a technical file, not a certifiable management system.

The scoping job decides which AI systems, teams, and third-party models the AI management system actually covers, since a program that excludes half the company's models will not survive the audit. The control mapping job, which Sprinto leads with by pre-mapping every clause and Annex A control to a policy and an owner, turns the standard's text into a checklist a non-lawyer can execute. The evidence collection job pulls proof from the stack you already run: Secureframe pulls from 200+ integrations, Vanta from 400+. The certification job is the part software cannot do alone: Vanta and Thoropass partner with or bundle an accredited auditor, but the certificate itself still comes from that third party, not from the software vendor.

Why a certification, not a checklist, is the actual deliverable

ISO/IEC 42001 published in December 2023 as the first management-system standard written for AI specifically, and unlike a self-attested framework, it ends in a certificate issued by an accredited body after an external audit. A vendor that only scores your AI risk on a dashboard has not built you an AI management system, it has built you a report nobody outside the company can rely on.

That distinction is why Scrut Automation and Anecdotes both lead their pitch with the fact that they carried their own AI management system through that exact audit. Anecdotes says it recertified ISO 27001 and earned ISO 27701 and ISO 42001 in under six months, running the program on its own platform. A sales deck that talks about AI governance without naming the certification body, the Annex A controls, or the surveillance audit that follows a first certification is selling a dashboard, not a path to the standard.

Key Features to Look For

  • Pre-mapped clauses and Annex A controls (Essential)

    Sprinto pre-maps all 10 clauses and 38 Annex A controls of ISO/IEC 42001 to policies, evidence requirements, and an owner, so a first-time buyer starts around 70% of the way there instead of at zero. A tool that only offers a blank risk register leaves that mapping work to you.

  • Evidence pulled from the stack you run (Essential)

    Vanta's ISO 42001 product runs automated tests across 400+ integrations, and Secureframe pulls continuous configuration data from 200+ integrations for the same job. Manual evidence collection is the single biggest reason a first ISO 42001 audit slips its date.

  • A path to an accredited certificate, not only a score (Essential)

    Vanta partners with ISO 42001-accredited auditors and calls itself the fastest way to get certified, while Thoropass bundles its own Thoropass Audit service on top of the platform. A tool with no auditor relationship still leaves you to find and schedule that audit yourself.

  • AI-specific risk and system inventory (Essential)

    Sprinto's platform detects AI tool usage across browser extensions, managed devices, integrations, and SSO sign-ins, then routes each one to an owner for a risk review. OneTrust's AI inventory covers systems, models, agents, datasets, vendors, projects, and use cases inside the same module that ships its ISO 42001 template.

  • A named policy pack, not a generic template (Important)

    Credo AI's ISO/IEC 42001 AI Policy Pack is built to get an organization to 45% of the standard's requirements out of the box, by its own account. A platform that cannot name the percentage of the standard its templates actually cover is asking you to take its ISO 42001 claim on faith.

  • AI that reads the audit trail for you (Important)

    Drata AI summarizes the context around a failed control test and links AI-specific risks straight to the control, the owner, and the supporting evidence, so a compliance lead is not re-reading raw logs during audit week.

  • A vendor that has already been through the same audit (Important)

    Scrut Automation and Anecdotes aren't the only ones: Vanta, Drata, and Sprinto also hold ISO 42001 certification for their own AI use, confirmed on their own trust centers. What sets Scrut Automation and Anecdotes apart is that they lead their entire pitch with it, not just list it as a badge. Either way, a vendor's own certificate is a different claim than proof its product maps the standard's controls for your organization.

  • A published number, when one exists (Nice to have)

    IBM watsonx.governance and Secureframe are the only platforms in this guide with dollar figures on their own pricing pages: IBM shows a monthly rate for Risk & Compliance and a metered rate for Model Management, and Secureframe shows a starting annual rate for its entry tier. Everywhere else here, and on Secureframe's own higher tiers, the first number you see comes from a sales call.

What to settle before the first demo

  1. Write down which AI systems, teams, and vendor models the program has to cover before the call. Sprinto's own scoping tool starts by inventorying AI usage across browser extensions and SSO sign-ins, and a vendor that skips this step is scoping on your word alone.

  2. Ask whether the platform partners with, or bundles, an accredited ISO 42001 auditor; a platform with neither leaves the certification search to you.

  3. Get the quote itemized by module. Vanta, Sprinto, Drata, Scrut Automation, Credo AI, Anecdotes, OneTrust, and Thoropass all publish no list price, so the sales call is where you learn whether control mapping, evidence collection, and audit support are one price or three. Secureframe publishes a starting price for its entry tier, but its Complete and Defense tiers still need a quote.

  4. If IBM watsonx.governance is on the shortlist for its published entry price, confirm what one concurrent user and one module actually cover before assuming the price scales to a full compliance team.

  5. Ask what percentage of the standard's controls the platform's own template covers out of the box. Credo AI and Sprinto both name a figure; a vendor that will not give you a number is asking for trust it has not earned.

Evaluation Checklist

  • On Vanta, ask for the ISO 42001 accredited-auditor list by name and confirm which one you would work with, not only that a network exists.

  • On Sprinto, open the ISO 42001 control map directly and confirm all 38 Annex A controls show an assigned owner, not only the ones highlighted in the demo.

  • On Drata, run one AI-specific risk through Drata AI and confirm it links to a real control, owner, and piece of evidence, not only a summary paragraph.

  • On Secureframe, read the dedicated AI policy in the policy library and confirm it was written for ISO 42001 specifically, not adapted from a generic AI use policy.

  • On Scrut Automation, ask to see the ISO 42001 module itself, not only the certificate on Scrut's own trust page, since the homepage still leads with SOC 2 and ISO 27001.

  • On Credo AI, ask exactly which controls the Policy Pack's stated coverage already handles, and get a written list of the controls you would still own.

  • On Anecdotes, ask for the same requirement-level control mapping it used on its own six-month certification, applied to your framework list, not a generic demo.

  • On IBM watsonx.governance, get the per-user cost past the published Basic floor in writing before assuming it covers a full team.

Pricing Overview

Published monthly rate

IBM watsonx.governance Risk & Compliance Basic and Advanced.

Two tiers, billed monthly

Metered pay-as-you-go

IBM watsonx.governance Model Management on IBM Cloud.

Priced per resource unit

Published annual rate, entry tier only

Secureframe Fundamentals, from $7,000/year; Complete and Defense are quote-only.

One tier with a starting price

No public dollar

Pricing Comparison

Best ISO 42001 Compliance Tools pricing comparison, as of September 2026
ToolFree or trialEntry pricePast the entry tierBest fit

Vanta

None published

No list price

No list price

Widest ISO 42001 automation and an accredited-auditor network

Sprinto

None published

No list price

No list price

Standard pre-mapped for a first-time buyer

Drata

None published

No list price

No list price

AI risk linked to controls inside an existing Drata program

Secureframe

None published

From $7,000/year (Fundamentals)

No list price (Complete, Defense)

Dedicated AI policy and 200+ integrations for startups

None published

No list price

No list price

Vendor is ISO 42001 certified on its own platform

None published

No list price

No list price

AI-governance specialist with a named coverage percentage

Anecdotes

None published

No list price

No list price

Agentic GRC vendor that earned the trifecta itself

None published

No list price

No list price

ISO 42001 template inside a broader privacy and GRC suite

Thoropass

None published

No list price

No list price

Platform bundled with an accredited audit service

14-day trial

$3,500/mo (Risk & Compliance Basic)

$6,450/mo Advanced; $0.64/unit metered; AWS bundle from $42,000

Procurement wants a published number

Prices checked on vendor pricing pages, September 24, 2026, including IBM watsonx.governance pricing, Secureframe pricing, and Vanta pricing. Sprinto, Drata, Scrut Automation, Credo AI, Anecdotes, OneTrust, and Thoropass publish no list price.

Mistakes to Avoid

  • ×

    Confusing ISO 42001 with the EU AI Act. One is a certifiable management-system standard with an accredited audit at the end; the other is a regulation with risk tiers and fines. A tool built for one does not automatically satisfy the other, even when the same vendor sells both.

  • ×

    Assuming a platform's own ISO 42001 certificate means its product is certified. Vanta, Drata, Sprinto, Scrut Automation, and Anecdotes all hold the credential for their internal AI use. That says the vendor can run an AI management system, not that its software is itself accredited.

  • ×

    Skipping the scoping step. Sprinto's own detection tool exists because most companies do not know every AI system in use across browser extensions and SSO logins; a program that excludes half of them will not survive the external audit.

  • ×

    Reading a control-coverage percentage as the whole job. Credo AI's stated coverage figure describes what the Policy Pack handles out of the box, not what remains after you add your own risk assessments and evidence.

  • ×

    Comparing IBM's published Basic tier or Secureframe's entry price against quote-only enterprise contracts on a spreadsheet. A single-user or single-tier entry price and a custom annual quote answer different budget questions.

Expert Tips

  • →

    Ask every vendor for the specific clause or Annex A control it cannot yet map, not only the ones it highlights first. Sprinto and Vanta will name gaps if you ask directly; a vendor that will not is hiding scope.

  • →

    Confirm the accredited auditor before signing, not after. Vanta names a partner network and Thoropass bundles Thoropass Audit; either way, get the auditor's name in the contract, not only a promise to introduce one later.

  • →

    Reuse evidence you already have. If your team also runs SOC 2 or ISO 27001, ask how much control overlap the vendor's ISO 42001 mapping reuses, since Drata and Vanta both build ISO 42001 onto controls they already automate.

  • →

    Do not average IBM's or Secureframe's published entry price against the rest of the custom quotes. A published entry tier answers a different budget question than an enterprise contract for a full compliance team.

  • →

    For an AI-governance-first buyer, start the shortlist at Credo AI even though it is a quote. A platform that states its exact percentage of standard coverage is closer to an honest starting point than one that will not name a number.

Red Flags to Watch For

  • !

    A vendor that markets AI governance broadly but cannot name ISO/IEC 42001, its clauses, or its Annex A controls when asked directly.

  • !

    A sales team that cannot say whether an accredited certification body is involved anywhere in the process, since ISO 42001 without that body is not a certification.

  • !

    A platform that quotes a control-coverage percentage without saying which controls are still on you, the way any partial figure needs the remainder mapped somewhere.

  • !

    Treating a vendor's own ISO 42001 certificate as proof that its product, rather than only its internal operations, is built for your certification.

  • !

    A quote with no line item for the audit itself, whether bundled like Thoropass or handled through a named accredited-auditor partner network.

The Bottom Line

Vanta or Sprinto when ISO 42001 is the certification you are chasing this quarter. Vanta brings the widest automation and a named accredited-auditor network; Sprinto pre-maps the standard's full clause and control set so you start closer to done. Both publish no list price.

Scrut Automation or Anecdotes when you want proof the vendor has already carried its own AI management system through the same audit it is selling you. Credo AI is the pick when AI governance, not general security compliance, is the actual job, and its Policy Pack is the only one here that states a specific coverage percentage.

Drata and Secureframe fit teams already running one of them for SOC 2 or ISO 27001 who want ISO 42001 added onto controls they already automate. OneTrust fits the same logic from an enterprise privacy or third-party-risk starting point instead of a security-compliance one.

Thoropass when the actual gap is finding and scheduling the accredited audit itself, since the audit ships bundled with the platform. IBM watsonx.governance publishes the clearest price on its own pricing page, and Secureframe publishes a starting price for its entry tier: start with either if procurement needs a budget line before a technical evaluation.

Cite this: Toolradar, "Best ISO 42001 Compliance Tools in 2026", September 2026. Prices checked on vendor pricing pages in September 2026. No paid placement. Ranked against the 165 compliance management tools the catalog tracks.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the best ISO 42001 compliance tool in 2026?

Vanta and Sprinto, if ISO 42001 is the certification you are working toward right now: Vanta brings the widest automation and a named accredited-auditor network, and Sprinto pre-maps the standard's 10 clauses and 38 Annex A controls so you start closer to finished. Both are quote-only. Scrut Automation and Anecdotes are the picks if you want proof the vendor has carried its own AI system through the same audit. IBM watsonx.governance and Secureframe are the two platforms here with a published starting price on their own pricing pages.

How much does ISO 42001 compliance software cost in 2026?

As of September 24, 2026, IBM watsonx.governance and Secureframe are the two vendors on this list with a published number: IBM's Risk & Compliance Basic starts at $3,500/mo, Advanced at $6,450/mo, Model Management at $0.64 per resource unit, and an AWS Marketplace package at $42,000; Secureframe's Fundamentals tier starts at $7,000/year, though its Complete and Defense tiers are quote-only. Vanta, Sprinto, Drata, Scrut Automation, Credo AI, Anecdotes, OneTrust, and Thoropass publish no list price at all; every one of them requires a sales conversation before you see a number.

Is there a free ISO 42001 compliance tool?

Not among these ten as a production plan. IBM watsonx.governance offers a 14-day trial on a shared environment, plus a 30-day trial specifically for Model Management pay-as-you-go pricing. The other nine, Vanta, Sprinto, Drata, Secureframe, Scrut Automation, Credo AI, Anecdotes, OneTrust, and Thoropass, do not publish a free tier; each routes you to a sales conversation before you see a price, let alone a free plan.

What is ISO/IEC 42001 and who needs it?

ISO/IEC 42001, published in December 2023, is the first international standard for an AI management system: a documented program covering how an organization scopes, governs, and continuously improves its use of AI. It applies to any organization that builds, deploys, or provides AI systems and wants third-party proof of that governance, most often software vendors selling into enterprise or regulated buyers who ask for it in procurement. Certification requires an external audit by an accredited body; a self-assessment against the standard is not the same as holding the certificate.

How does Sprinto compare with Vanta for ISO 42001?

Both publish no list price and both lead with control mapping. Sprinto's concrete claim is pre-mapping the standard's full clause and control set to policies and owners, with more than 1,500 companies said to have used it for ISO 42001 certification. Vanta adds automated control testing across 400+ integrations and a named network of ISO 42001-accredited auditors, plus its own AI Agent for evidence-gap summaries. Sprinto leans toward a faster starting point; Vanta leans toward wider ongoing automation and a clearer path to the audit itself.

Can a vendor's own ISO 42001 certificate replace due diligence on its product?

No. Vanta, Drata, Sprinto, Scrut Automation, and Anecdotes all hold ISO 42001 certification for their own AI use, which shows each can run an AI management system well enough to pass an external audit. It does not certify their software as a compliance tool, and it does not replace checking that the specific module you would buy actually maps to the standard's clauses the way its marketing claims.

Does IBM watsonx.governance's sticker price cover a whole compliance team?

Only as a floor. The published Basic tier buys one basic instance, one module, and one concurrent user, and Advanced moves that up for a broader deployment. Software pricing past the listed tiers runs on virtual processor cores, a metric IBM prices only through a sales conversation, so a team of five compliance staff working across several AI systems needs a quote past the entry number.

Cite this page: Toolradar, "Best ISO 42001 Compliance Tools in 2026", updated September 2026, https://toolradar.com/guides/best-iso-42001-compliance-tools

Related Guides

Ready to Choose?

Compare features, read reviews, and find the right tool.