Skip to content

Cheaper Hootsuite Alternatives in 2026

TL;DR

For a three-person team managing 15 social profiles, billed yearly, SocialPilot Standard plus one bundle of 5 extra accounts costs $648 a year, the lowest of the nine alternatives priced here that connect all 15 profiles. Hootsuite Professional costs $7,164 for the same team, a gap of $6,516 (checked 19 Oct 2026). Later's Growth plan with one extra set and user is $630 but cannot connect X, and Buffer Team is $1,400.

Nine tools priced for 3 users and 15 social profiles beside Hootsuite Professional, with the price unit of every plan and a team-size ladder, checked on vendor pages in October 2026.

Publications that cover the tools tracked here
  • TechCrunch
  • Bloomberg
  • The Information
  • Fortune
  • The Verge
171 Social Media Management tools tracked

Hootsuite bills per user, so every added teammate buys a full seat while the number of social profiles stays the same. For three people and 15 profiles, the cheapest Hootsuite plan that allows more than 10 accounts is Professional at $199 per user a month billed annually, which makes three seats $7,164 a year. Tools that price by profile, social set or brand either include the third login or charge a small fee for it, and that is where the savings come from. Toolradar data: of the 171 social media management tools we track, 43% offer a free or freemium plan and 56% are paid only, so a team that pays Hootsuite per seat is choosing from a crowded field.

The scenario, called S1, is three users (a manager and two contributors) and 15 profiles: three each on Instagram, Facebook and LinkedIn, and two each on X, TikTok and YouTube. The team schedules posts, shares one calendar and reads basic analytics, with no approval step, billed yearly in US dollars. A social set or a brand holds one profile per network, so three Instagram profiles need three sets. Two more sizes show where the order flips: one user with five profiles, and five users with 30.

Methodology: we weighed 171 social media management tools and priced nine alternatives whose own pricing pages let us map S1 onto a printed price, read on 19 October 2026. Prices are billed yearly unless a row says otherwise, and each saving is our arithmetic on printed prices, not a test of the tools. Rows run from the lowest S1 cost upward among tools that connect all 15 profiles, and Later, which cannot connect X, sits second with its price flagged. Hootsuite is the baseline and is not ranked. See the social media management category, the Hootsuite alternatives list and the older ten-tool comparison.

Top Picks

Picked by editorial review, informed by G2 and Capterra review volume and rating and by media mentions, the signals behind our category rankings. How we rate

SocialPilot logo

SocialPilot

#1 Top pick

Standard covers 10 accounts and 3 users, and one 5-account bundle takes the team to 15.

Starting price

$34 /mo Standard, billed annually

4.1 (1,229 reviews)

Best for

Teams of up to 3 users with 10 to 15 profiles that want a flat plan plus add-ons.

Later logo

Later

#2

Growth with one extra set and one extra user costs $52.50 a month billed yearly, but Later does not list X.

Starting price

$37.50 /mo Growth, billed yearly

4.4 (915 reviews)

Best for

Teams posting to Instagram, Facebook, LinkedIn, TikTok and YouTube with no X profiles.

SocialBee logo

Bootstrap plus two profile packs and two extra users costs $790 a year, and Pro includes 25 profiles and 3 users.

Starting price

From $290 /yr, billed annually

4.6 (516 reviews)

Best for

Teams that want a yearly price they can extend with profiles and users in fixed steps.

Cheaper Hootsuite Alternatives in 2026: What a Three-Person Team Pays compared: starting price, rating and best use, as of November 2026. Each rating is the average of the review sites listed on that tool's card, weighted by the logarithm of their review counts.
Tool Starting price Rating Best for
SocialPilot $34/mo Standard, billed annually 4.1 1,229 reviews Teams of up to 3 users with 10 to 15 profiles that want a flat plan plus add-ons.
Later $37.50/mo Growth, billed yearly 4.4 915 reviews Teams posting to Instagram, Facebook, LinkedIn, TikTok and YouTube with no X profiles.
SocialBee From $290/yr, billed annually 4.6 516 reviews Teams that want a yearly price they can extend with profiles and users in fixed steps.
Metricool $53/mo Advanced, annual billing 4.4 102 reviews Teams of 3 or more that organize profiles by brand and need few or no X profiles.
Zoho Social From $10/mo, billed annually 4.7 6,408 reviews Solo managers and small teams that organize profiles by brand and add members as needed.
Pallyy $950/yr Agency, billed yearly 4.7 81 reviews Teams of 3 to 10 users managing several brands or clients with many profiles each.
Buffer From $5/channel/mo, billed yearly 3.4 1,176 reviews Teams that add profiles one at a time and want unlimited users and approval workflows.
Planable $49/workspace/mo Pro, billed yearly 4.5 1,505 reviews Agencies and brand teams that need approvals and many users across few workspaces.
Vista Social $1,910/yr Advanced, billed yearly 4.8 1,129 reviews Teams that want listening, reviews and DM automations in one tool and can pay for 30 profiles.
1
SocialPilot logo
Top Pick

SocialPilot

Standard covers 10 accounts and 3 users, and one 5-account bundle takes the team to 15.

Starting price
$34/mo Standard, billed annually
Free plan
No
Rating
4.1 (1,229 reviews)

Best for: Teams of up to 3 users with 10 to 15 profiles that want a flat plan plus add-ons.

  • Pro: Standard covers 10 accounts and 3 users at $34 a month billed annually, and one bundle of 5 accounts at $20 a month makes the 15-profile total $648 a year.
  • Pro: Premium covers 20 accounts and 6 users at $85 a month billed annually, and the platform list includes Twitter, TikTok, YouTube and LinkedIn.
  • Pro: Standard lists bulk scheduling, a social inbox, content approvals and team collaboration, and extra users cost $5 a month.
  • Con: Bundles and extra users are printed at monthly prices only, so the add-on part of the total uses the monthly rate.
  • Con: Essentials stops at 5 accounts and 1 user, and Standard keeps 3 months of analytics history against 12 on Premium.
Good value

SocialPilot offers a competitive pricing structure, particularly for agencies and businesses needing multiple social media accounts and users.

SocialPilot screenshot
Used SocialPilot? Rate it
2
Later logo

Later

Growth with one extra set and one extra user costs $52.50 a month billed yearly, but Later does not list X.

Starting price
$37.50/mo Growth, billed yearly
Free plan
No
Rating
4.4 (915 reviews)

Best for: Teams posting to Instagram, Facebook, LinkedIn, TikTok and YouTube with no X profiles.

  • Pro: Growth is $37.50 a month billed yearly for 2 sets and 2 users, an extra set is $11.25 and an extra user $3.75, so the total is $630 a year.
  • Pro: A social set holds one profile on each of 8 networks, so 3 sets leave room for 24 profiles.
  • Pro: Growth adds a shared Instagram calendar, post approvals, a social inbox and 1 year of analytics, against 3 months on Starter.
  • Con: X is not on Later's supported-networks list, so the 2 X profiles cannot connect and the plan covers 13 of 15 profiles.
  • Con: Starter allows 1 user and no extras, and Growth caps scheduling at 180 posts per profile per month, with unlimited posting from Scale.
Good value

Later's pricing is fair for small to medium businesses.

Watch out

Monthly billing costs about 33% more than yearly

Used Later? Rate it
3
SocialBee logo

SocialBee

Bootstrap plus two profile packs and two extra users costs $790 a year, and Pro includes 25 profiles and 3 users.

  • 4.7 on G2 (477 reviews)
  • 4.4 on Capterra (39 reviews)
Starting price
From $290/yr, billed annually
Free plan
No
Rating
4.6 (516 reviews)

Best for: Teams that want a yearly price they can extend with profiles and users in fixed steps.

  • Pro: Bootstrap at $290 a year plus two 5-profile packs at $150 each and two users at $100 each gives 15 profiles and 3 users for $790.
  • Pro: Pro at $990 a year includes 25 profiles, 3 users per workspace and 5 workspaces, so the team needs no add-ons.
  • Pro: Accelerate adds a post approval system, advanced analytics and 2 years of analytics data at $490 a year, and the network list includes X, TikTok and YouTube.
  • Con: Bootstrap keeps 3 months of analytics data and has no post approval system.
  • Con: Each extra user is $100 a year and each 5 profiles $150, so 30 profiles and 5 users on Pro reach $1,340.
Good value

SocialBee's pricing is fair, offering a good range of features for its price points.

Watch out

Potential for overage fees on posts (not explicitly stated but common)

Used SocialBee? Rate it
4
Metricool logo

Metricool

Advanced covers up to 15 brands and unlimited team members, and each X account costs extra.

  • 4.4 on G2 (102 reviews)
Starting price
$53/mo Advanced, annual billing
Free plan
Yes
Rating
4.4 (102 reviews)

Best for: Teams of 3 or more that organize profiles by brand and need few or no X profiles.

  • Pro: Advanced is $53 a month on annual billing for up to 15 brands and unlimited team members, $636 a year, and this team needs 3 brands.
  • Pro: One brand holds one profile per network, so 15 profiles over six networks fit in 3 brands.
  • Pro: Starter at $20 a month billed annually suits one user, and a free plan covers 1 brand with 20 scheduled posts a month.
  • Con: X is a paid add-on per connected account, which takes the total to $876, and the page does not state its billing term.
  • Con: Starter has no team members, Advanced starts at the 15-brand tier, and that tier costs $67 a month on monthly billing.
Good value

The Free tier is generous for individuals or very small operations.

Watch out

Overage fees for exceeding post limits

Used Metricool? Rate it
5
Zoho Social logo

Zoho Social

Standard fits one user, and Professional with added brands and members suits a small team that splits profiles by brand.

  • 4.7 on Capterra (3,442 reviews)
  • 4.6 on G2 (2,966 reviews)
Starting price
From $10/mo, billed annually
Free plan
Yes
Rating
4.7 (6,408 reviews)

Best for: Solo managers and small teams that organize profiles by brand and add members as needed.

  • Pro: Standard covers 1 brand and 1 team member for $120 a year billed annually, the lowest 1-user, 5-profile cost in this table.
  • Pro: Professional at $30 a month billed annually takes added brands at $14.50 and members as add-ons, so the total is $79 a month, $948 a year.
  • Pro: Premium at $40 a month billed annually includes 3 team members and content approvals, and two added brands at $19.50 each reach the same monthly total.
  • Con: A brand holds one profile per network, two on LinkedIn, so 3 Instagram profiles need 3 brands.
  • Con: Standard lists no add-ons, Professional accepts at most 5 added brands, and 5 users with 30 profiles reach $1,536 a year.
Zoho Social screenshot
Used Zoho Social? Rate it
6
Pallyy logo

Pallyy

Agency includes 10 social sets and 3 users with no per-profile charge, so a team of 3 needs no add-ons.

Starting price
$950/yr Agency, billed yearly
Free plan
No
Rating
4.7 (81 reviews)

Best for: Teams of 3 to 10 users managing several brands or clients with many profiles each.

  • Pro: Agency is $950 a year billed yearly and includes 10 sets and 3 users, and extra sets and extra users are $120 a year each.
  • Pro: Each set takes one profile per network, two on LinkedIn, with no per-profile fee.
  • Pro: At 5 users and 30 profiles Agency plus two extra users costs $1,190, the lowest in this table among the priced tools that connect all 30 profiles.
  • Con: Pro at $240 a year allows 1 user and cannot add users, so a team of 3 must buy Agency.
  • Con: Agency costs more than SocialPilot for this team because it bundles 10 sets, and it allows at most 7 extra users.
Good value

It's best for solo creators or larger agencies with high volume needs.

Used Pallyy? Rate it
7
Buffer logo

Buffer

Team charges per channel and includes unlimited team members, so the price follows the profile count.

Starting price
From $5/channel/mo, billed yearly
Free plan
Yes
Rating
3.4 (1,176 reviews)

Best for: Teams that add profiles one at a time and want unlimited users and approval workflows.

  • Pro: Team includes unlimited team members, access levels and content approval workflows, so the third user costs nothing extra.
  • Pro: On monthly rates channels 1 to 10 cost $12 each and channels 11 to 25 cost $4 each, so 15 channels are $140 a month, or $1,400 on yearly billing.
  • Pro: The Free plan allows 3 channels, 1 user and 10 scheduled posts per channel, and the pricing page calls it free forever.
  • Con: Essentials includes 1 user, so a team of 3 must use Team, and the Team card shows the 1-channel rate, not the 15-channel total.
  • Con: Cost rises with every channel, reaching $1,950 a year at 30 channels, and the pricing page opens at 1 channel.
Good value

This pricing is best for small businesses, solopreneurs, and growing teams focused on social media management.

Used Buffer? Rate it
8
Planable logo

Planable

Priced per workspace with unlimited users; 15 profiles need 2 Pro workspaces plus the Analytics add-on.

Starting price
$49/workspace/mo Pro, billed yearly
Free plan
Yes
Rating
4.5 (1,505 reviews)

Best for: Agencies and brand teams that need approvals and many users across few workspaces.

  • Pro: Every plan includes unlimited users, so a team of 3 and a team of 30 pay the same per workspace.
  • Pro: Pro holds 10 social pages and 150 posts a month per workspace, with None, Optional or Required approval flows.
  • Pro: Yearly billing pays 10 of 12 months: $590 for a Pro workspace and $140 for Analytics.
  • Con: Analytics is a paid add-on at $14 a workspace a month, so the total is $1,180 for 2 Pro workspaces and $1,460 with analytics.
  • Con: Basic holds 4 social pages and posts to X once per 24 hours, and 30 profiles need 3 workspaces.
Good value

Planable offers a fair pricing structure, especially with its generous Free tier allowing 50 posts.

Used Planable? Rate it
9
Vista Social logo

Vista Social

Advanced includes 30 profiles and 3 users, enough for 15 profiles, before the X add-on.

  • 4.8 on G2 (1,129 reviews)
Starting price
$1,910/yr Advanced, billed yearly
Free plan
Yes
Rating
4.8 (1,129 reviews)

Best for: Teams that want listening, reviews and DM automations in one tool and can pay for 30 profiles.

  • Pro: Advanced is $1,910 a year billed yearly for 30 profiles and 3 users, so the team needs no add-on beyond X.
  • Pro: Professional covers 15 profiles and 2 users at a lower tier, which fits a smaller team.
  • Pro: Listening on your own profiles is free, and listening across social, web and news starts at $75 a month.
  • Con: Professional includes 2 users and the page prints no price for a third, so the printed route to 3 users is Advanced, $960 a year more.
  • Con: X is an add-on at $29 a month and the page does not say whether it is per profile, and 5 users with 30 profiles need added users at a price the page does not print.
Good value

This pricing is best for individuals and small to medium-sized businesses looking for comprehensive social media management without breaking the bank.

Watch out

No clear overage fees mentioned

Used Vista Social? Rate it

Other Social Media Management tools worth considering

More published tools from our Social Media Management category, ordered by our category ranking. They are not part of the editorial picks above.

What the price unit means for a Hootsuite alternative

A social media management tool schedules posts, shows a calendar and reports analytics across networks. What separates a low bill from a high one is the unit each vendor charges on. Hootsuite charges per user, with Standard capped at 10 accounts, and its plans are listed on the Hootsuite pricing page. Buffer charges per channel, meaning one connected profile. Later and Pallyy charge per social set, and Metricool and Zoho Social per brand; a set or brand holds one profile per network.

SocialPilot, SocialBee and Vista Social sell plans with profile and user caps, and Planable charges per workspace with unlimited users. The same 15 profiles and three people therefore land on a different number of billable units at every vendor, and the table converts each one.

Why the unit matters more than the sticker price

A seat price grows with the team and a profile price grows with the portfolio, so the two cross at different sizes. At one user and five profiles, Hootsuite Standard costs $1,188 a year, and at five users and 30 profiles Hootsuite Professional costs $11,940, while every alternative with a printed price at those sizes costs less.

Among the priced rows that connect every profile, the lowest cost moves with the size: Zoho Social at the small end, SocialPilot at S1, Pallyy at the large end. Hootsuite scales with seats, per-channel and per-set tools with profiles, and per-brand tools with brands. A buyer who knows whether the next hire or the next client is coming can pick the unit that grows slowest.

Key Features to Look For

  • Price unit per vendor (Essential)

    Hootsuite charges per user. Buffer charges per channel, Later and Pallyy per social set, Metricool and Zoho Social per brand, Planable per workspace, and SocialPilot, SocialBee and Vista Social by plan with profile and user caps.

  • User caps on entry plans (Essential)

    Later Starter, Pallyy Pro, SocialPilot Essentials, Buffer Essentials and Zoho Social Standard each include 1 user, and Metricool Starter has no team members. Buffer Team and Planable charge nothing per user.

  • Profile and account caps (Important)

    SocialPilot caps Standard at 10 accounts, Premium at 20 and Ultimate at 40. SocialBee caps Bootstrap at 5 profiles, Accelerate at 10 and Pro at 25. Vista Social caps Professional at 15 and Advanced at 30. Hootsuite Standard stops at 10, which pushes a 15-profile team to Professional.

  • Sets, brands and workspaces (Important)

    A Later or Pallyy social set and a Metricool or Zoho Social brand hold one profile per network, with Pallyy and Zoho Social allowing two on LinkedIn. Three Instagram profiles therefore need three sets or brands. A Planable workspace holds 10 social pages on Pro, so 15 profiles need two workspaces.

  • X profile fees (Important)

    Metricool charges per connected X account, and Vista Social lists an X add-on at $29 a month. Later does not list X among its supported networks. Planable Basic publishes 1 post to X per 24 hours, and Pro lifts that limit.

  • Billing basis (Essential)

    Monthly billing costs more than yearly where both are printed. Metricool Advanced at 15 brands is $67 a month on the monthly tab against $53 on annual billing, and Planable and Buffer give two months free on yearly plans. Every S1 figure here is billed yearly.

What to check before moving three people off Hootsuite

  1. Count billable units, not people. The highest profile count on one network sets the number of sets or brands, which is 3 in S1.

  2. Check the user cap of the plan that fits your profile count. Vista Social Professional fits 15 profiles but includes 2 users.

  3. Price X separately. Metricool and Vista Social charge for it, and Later does not connect it.

  4. Decide whether approvals matter. They start at Hootsuite Advanced, $399 per user a month billed annually, and are included in Buffer Team, SocialPilot Standard and Later Growth.

Evaluation Checklist

  • List your profiles by network and use the highest count on one network as the number of sets or brands.

  • Count the logins you need today and in twelve months, and find the first plan that allows them.

  • Check that X, TikTok and YouTube are supported, since X carries a fee at two vendors and is missing at Later.

  • Convert every price to a yearly total and write the billing basis next to it.

  • Confirm that scheduling, a shared calendar and analytics sit in the plan and not in a paid add-on.

Pricing Overview

Per-user plans (Hootsuite)

Teams that want one plan per person: Standard stops at 10 accounts, Professional removes the cap and Advanced adds approvals.

$99 to $399 per user a month, billed annually

Profile-cap and account-cap plans

SocialPilot, SocialBee and Vista Social suit teams with a fixed profile count and one to three logins, with add-ons or a higher tier for more profiles.

Entry plans from $17 a month (SocialPilot Essentials), billed annually

Per-set and per-brand plans

Later, Pallyy, Metricool and Zoho Social suit teams that manage several brands, clients or locations.

Entry plans from $10 a month (Zoho Social), billed annually

Per-channel and per-workspace plans

Teams that add profiles or clients one at a time, with unlimited team members on Buffer Team and unlimited users on every Planable plan.

Buffer from $5 per channel a month, Planable from $33 per workspace a month, billed yearly

Pricing Comparison

Cheaper Hootsuite Alternatives in 2026: What a Three-Person Team Pays pricing comparison, as of November 2026
Tool and plan Price unit and S1 mapping Billing basis S1 cost a year (3 users, 15 profiles) Ladder: 1 user and 5 profiles / 5 users and 30 profiles Watch for

Hootsuite Professional (baseline, not ranked)

Per user; no account cap (Standard stops at 10)

$199 per user a month, billed annually

$7,164 (3 x $199 x 12)

$1,188 (Standard) / $11,940

Approvals start at Advanced ($399 per user a month)

SocialPilot Standard + 1 account bundle

Caps of 10 accounts and 3 users; a bundle adds 5 accounts

$34 a month billed annually; bundle printed at $20 a month

$648 ($54 x 12)

$204 (Essentials) / $1,488

No yearly price printed for bundles or extra users

Later Growth + 1 extra set + 1 extra user

Per social set (1 profile per network) and per user: 3 sets, 3 users

Billed yearly: $37.50 + $11.25 + $3.75 a month

$630 ($52.50 x 12), 13 of 15 profiles

$225 / $990 (25 of 30 profiles)

No X support; YouTube is Shorts only; Starter has 1 user and no extras

SocialBee Bootstrap + 2 profile packs + 2 users

Cap of 5 profiles; add-ons of 5 profiles or 1 user

Billed annually: plan, $150 per 5-profile pack, $100 per user

$790 ($290 + $300 + $200)

$290 (Bootstrap) / $1,340 (Pro + add-ons)

Bootstrap keeps 3 months of analytics; Pro at $990 includes 3 users

Metricool Advanced (15-brand tier)

Per brand (1 profile per network): 3 brands needed

$53 a month on annual billing; X add-on $10 per account a month

$876 ($636 plan + $240 for 2 X accounts)

$240 (Starter) / $1,236 (with 5 X accounts)

Starter has no team members; X add-on billing term not printed

Zoho Social Professional + 2 brands + 2 members

Per brand (1 profile per network, 2 on LinkedIn) and per member

Billed annually: $30 plan, $14.50 per added brand, $10 per member

$948 ($79 x 12)

$120 (Standard) / $1,536

Premium plus 2 added brands is also $79 a month

Pallyy Agency

Per social set (1 profile per network, 2 on LinkedIn): 10 sets and 3 users included

Billed yearly; $99 a month billed monthly

$950

$240 (Pro) / $1,190 (Agency + 2 extra users)

Pro has 1 user and cannot add users

Buffer Team

Per channel, volume tiers; unlimited team members

Yearly billing pays 10 of 12 months of monthly rates: $12 for channels 1 to 10, $4 for 11 to 25

$1,400 (15 channels)

$300 (Essentials) / $1,950

YouTube is Shorts only; Essentials has 1 user; the card shows the 1-channel rate

Planable Pro, 2 workspaces + Analytics

Per workspace (10 social pages on Pro); unlimited users

Yearly billing pays 10 of 12 months of $59 and $14: $590 + $140 per workspace (cards round to $49 and $12)

$1,460 (2 x $730)

$730 / $2,190

Analytics is a paid add-on; Basic posts to X once per 24 hours

Vista Social Advanced

Plan caps of 30 profiles and 3 users (Professional: 15 profiles, 2 users)

Billed yearly

$1,910 plus the X add-on at $29 a month

$950 (Professional) / not priced

Extra users and profiles are offered but not priced on the page

Prices checked on 19 October 2026 on the vendor pages: Hootsuite plans, Buffer pricing and Buffer pricing file, Later pricing, SocialPilot pricing, Metricool pricing, Pallyy pricing and Pallyy pricing file, Pallyy social sets, Vista Social pricing, SocialBee pricing, Zoho Social pricing, Planable pricing and Planable pricing file, Publer plans and Sprout Social pricing. Costs are our arithmetic on printed US dollar prices before tax. Ladder sizes: 1 user with 5 profiles (one each on Instagram, Facebook, LinkedIn, TikTok and YouTube) and 5 users with 30 profiles (5 on each of the six networks). X fees are included where the printed unit gives a total, and Vista Social's X add-on is shown separately because the page does not state its unit.

Mistakes to Avoid

  • ×

    Comparing the one-unit headline price. Buffer's card shows the first-channel rate and Hootsuite's rate is per user, so neither is the total for this team.

  • ×

    Pricing a set as if it held eight of one network. A Later or Pallyy set takes one profile per network, so three Instagram profiles need three sets.

  • ×

    Buying an entry plan that allows one login and adding two users later. At Later, Pallyy, SocialPilot and Buffer, three logins push the team to the next plan up.

  • ×

    Forgetting the X fee: Metricool charges per connected X account, Vista Social lists $29 a month, and Later cannot connect X at all.

  • ×

    Mixing monthly and yearly prices. Metricool, SocialPilot, Pallyy and Vista Social print both, and the monthly figure is higher in every case.

Expert Tips

  • →

    List profiles by network first. The highest count on one network sets the number of sets or brands: the scenario has 3 Instagram profiles, so it needs 3.

  • →

    Price the add-on, not only the plan. SocialBee's Bootstrap plus add-ons is cheaper for this team than Pro, because profiles and users are sold separately.

  • →

    Check the user cap before the profile cap. Vista Social Professional covers 15 profiles but includes 2 users, and the page prints no price for a third.

  • →

    Re-run the numbers at your next hire. At 5 users and 30 profiles Pallyy passes SocialPilot, so a team about to grow should price both sizes.

  • →

    Use free plans to test fit, not to run a team: Buffer, Zoho Social and Pallyy each include 1 user on their free plan, and Metricool's has no team members.

Red Flags to Watch For

  • A price shown for one unit: Buffer's card opens at the first-channel rate, and Publer's page shows one account while the team price sits in a selector.

  • A cap that stops below your profile count, such as Hootsuite Standard at 10 accounts.

  • An add-on printed at a monthly price on a yearly plan, as SocialPilot does for extra accounts and users.

  • A plan table that lists 1 user on the plan you need: Later Starter, Pallyy Pro and SocialPilot Essentials each stop at one login.

  • An X line item: Metricool and Vista Social price X separately, and Later does not list it.

The Bottom Line

For three users and 15 profiles billed yearly, SocialPilot Standard with one account bundle costs less than a tenth of Hootsuite Professional for the same team. The gap is also wide at the other two sizes, where Zoho Social Standard and Pallyy are the lowest priced rows that connect every profile. Check X coverage first, because Later cannot connect it and Metricool charges for it. Next, read the Hootsuite vs Buffer comparison and the Hootsuite vs Sprout Social comparison. Cite this: Toolradar, "Cheaper Hootsuite Alternatives in 2026: What a Three-Person Team Pays", October 2026.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is a cheaper alternative to Hootsuite for a three-person team with 15 social profiles?

SocialPilot Standard ($34 a month billed annually) plus one bundle of 5 extra accounts ($20 a month) costs $648 a year for 3 users and 15 accounts, against $7,164 for Hootsuite Professional, a saving of $6,516 as checked on 19 Oct 2026. Later's Growth plan with one extra set and one extra user is $630 but cannot connect X. SocialBee is $790 and Metricool $876 including its X fee.

How much does Hootsuite cost per user in 2026?

Hootsuite sells Standard at $99, Professional at $199 and Advanced at $399 per user a month, billed annually, with Enterprise on custom pricing. Standard caps at 10 accounts, so 15 profiles need Professional, and approvals start at Advanced. The plans page lists a 14-day trial and a higher per-user rate on monthly billing. A solo manager with up to 10 profiles pays $1,188 a year on Standard, and each extra Professional seat adds $2,388 a year.

Is there a free Hootsuite alternative?

Yes, but the limits rule out a three-person team. Buffer's Free plan allows 3 channels and 1 user, Metricool's 1 brand and 20 scheduled posts a month, Zoho Social's 1 brand with 6 channels and 1 team member, and Pallyy's 1 social set with 15 scheduled posts a month. Publer's Free plan allows 3 social accounts and no X. Hootsuite's plans page lists a 14-day trial and no free plan. See the free social media management tools guide.

Which Hootsuite alternative is cheapest at other team sizes?

Among the priced rows, Zoho Social Standard is the lowest for 1 user and 5 profiles at $120 a year, and Pallyy is the lowest for 5 users and 30 profiles at $1,190 among the tools that connect all 30 profiles (Later is $990 but cannot connect X). Hootsuite is $1,188 on Standard for one user and $11,940 on Professional for five. The order flips because per-brand tools charge for every added brand and member, and per-set tools charge a fee per set.

How does Hootsuite compare with Buffer on price?

Hootsuite charges per user and Buffer per channel. For 3 users and 15 profiles Buffer Team is $1,400 a year billed yearly, $5,764 less than Hootsuite Professional, and Team includes unlimited team members while Essentials includes 1 user. At 1 user and 5 profiles Buffer Essentials is $300 against Hootsuite Standard. See the Hootsuite vs Buffer comparison.

Is Sprout Social cheaper than Hootsuite?

Not for this team. Sprout Social lists Standard with 5 social profiles and Professional with unlimited profiles at $299 per seat a month on annual billing (checked 19 Oct 2026). Three Professional seats cost $10,764 a year, $3,600 more than Hootsuite Professional. See the Hootsuite vs Sprout Social comparison.

Why is Publer not in the price table?

Publer prices per social account and per additional member through a selector on its plans page. The page prints a starting price of $5 a month, or $4 a month billed yearly, for one social account and one user on Professional, and twice that on Business, with every tenth account free. It computes a total for larger teams in a selector that this guide did not price, so Publer is not ranked. Its per-account rate suggests Professional could come in below the ranked rows, so price 15 accounts and 3 users on Publer's plans page before choosing.

Cite this page: Toolradar, "Cheaper Hootsuite Alternatives in 2026", updated October 2026, https://toolradar.com/guides/cheaper-hootsuite-alternatives

Related Guides

Ready to Choose?

Compare features, read reviews, and find the right tool.

Some offers on this page may be paid placements or contain affiliate links.